Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-18-2016, 08:10 PM   #1

Reservations In Great Smoky Mountains National Park

I am new to rv camping...actually picking up my first travel trailer on Monday. I love The National Parks and we would love to camp inside Great Smoky Mountains National Park. But the website for reservations, www.reservations.gov is killing me. I just don't understand it at all. I put the campground we want, choose the dates we would like and search. All tye sites that come back have a W next to them, for Walk In....I have no idea what that means. There seem to be spots available, I just can't reserve them. The reservations only go out 6 months. I'm sure there is some rhyme or reason to hw the National Parks handle rv reservations. Can someone explain what I'm seeing and how I can reserve a few weeks and weekends over the next 6 months?
Mayberry32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!