Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-13-2017, 03:33 PM   #1

State of State Campgrounds

Relative newbie here and want to take a few minutes of your valuable time to RANT!!!!!!

DW and I bought a really nice used motorhome last week. We are very excited about our acquisition and have been spending a lot of time updating it, buying it little gifts, finding out where all the buttons, knobs and switches are, you know how it goes..........

Our goal was to have everything ready to go, and head out on the first long weekend coming up. Memorial Day! Next step was to figure out where. We consulted a few websites and selected a local State Park. We've been there before, just enjoying the area. Perfect for our first destination, right?

I attempted to make a reservation for the weekend, and thought this would be a snap. Wrong again! I ultimately searched EVERY State campground and found ONE (count 'em ONE) campsite in the entire state on Memorial Day weekend that would not involve a tent. I did some further research and found that every park has full reservations 90 days out. Walk up sites are generally taken over by people pitching tents on the preceding Monday or Tuesday to make sure they have a spot for the weekend.