Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Navigation, Routes & Roads
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-11-2021, 07:11 AM   #1

I-84 NY/CT to Hammonasett Beach State Park

I'm a newer TT driver and this will be my third, and longest, solo trip, traveling east from the NY;/CT border on I-84, with my destination being Hammonasett Beach State Park, right off of I-95. I've made this trip many times in my car, but it's a bit different when pulling a TT! I've also logged about 800 driving miles with my husband, being both pilot and co-pilot, so I'm not completely a newbie, although far from feeling comfortable, especially driving solo.

There are many ways to get from 84 down to 95 and I'm wondering what the easiest route would be for me to take. I'm comfortable with merging onto a highway, as long a traffic is not too intense. (translation - fairly easy to merge!). I'd like to avoid the Bridgeport area on 84, as there always seems to be construction going on and lots of lane changes and merges. I'm probably more comfortable with 84 than I am with 95.

I've checked google maps and RVLife GPS and I'm getting a bit boggled by the many alternatives. I've used street view with Google Maps so I have a sense of the different alternatives.

My question is - given I'm a new and not quite comfortable driver, how would you suggest I get from the Danbury area of I-84 down to Hammonasett/I-95?

Some possibilities:
84 to Route 7 to 95
84 to Route 25 to 95
84 to CT-122 to CT-34 to 95
Staying on 84 through Bridgeport to 691 to 9