RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Navigation, Routes & Roads
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-09-2020, 03:46 PM   #1

Is the Garmin 780 RV worthless

Does anyone have a positive experience with the Garmin 780 RV? I've been using mine for a few months and without question it takes the longest, time consuming routes possible. I realize it takes into consideration bridge height and weight restrictions, but I find it wrong most of the time. I started using it in conjunction with Waze for a 100 mile trip and there was initially a 45 minute estimated arrival time difference. I followed the Waze directions and only used Garmin to avoid height issues. Eventually the two were in synch and my Garmin time dropped to that of Waze. There was also a weight limit warning that didn't exist. This is one of many trips I've taken using both navigation apps and the results are always the same. I've chatted with Garmin, watched the instruction videos, updated the software and adjusted the settings. Still is terrible. Is it me or are others having the same issue. The best thing I didn't do was get this installed by the dealer.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!