Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-20-2020, 05:05 PM   #1

Dually or no dually?

Hello, I’m new to the RV and 5th wheel world. I’m a disabled veteran and I’m close to closing in on a 38 foot hemisphere 378FL 5th wheel. We’ve been looking into duallys but having one as a daily driver seems cumbersome.

We are going to be traveling with the 5th wheel twice a year when the seasons change. We would be leaving the North-East in late August and returning to the North-East. Otherwise we won’t be towing the 5th wheel anywhere. So roughly an 1100 mile trek, sit for 9 months, then return another 1100 miles and sit for 3 months.

The 5th wheel is about 12k pounds with an additional 2.5k pounds CCC which we will likely be close to maximum. After you add our family into the vehicle you around 15k pounds. I’m assuming the hitch will also add some additional weight.

Is it possible for us to get something like a 350 that can tow that weight? Is 2200 miles on this annually too much of a risk to not get a dually? There’s just so many more affordable options without one. Thanks for reading this.
RyanStryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!