Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-13-2018, 04:40 AM   #1

Help?? Stuck why is it so hard??

I am totally new to the RV world and lifestyle. I have decided to become a full timer.

You will all probably get a good laugh out of this because of all the newbie mistakes, but here's my quandry...

Early in my decision to move to a RV lifestyle I ran across a nearly brand spanking new Dodge Ram 2500 Laramie Diesel truck. It was mint, nearly everyting I thought I wanted and needed to be my tow vehicle and a steal. I bought it.

It is not a dually (I want a truck that is not a dually due to my hunting activities and places I sometimes need to get into), AND it has built in side tool boxes. I also thought it was a full sized bed (looked that way, but apparently in the RV world it is considered a short bed 6'4").

Now as I am trying to find a small (under 37') 5th wheel toy hauler I am finding out that this vehicle is not a good choices. I has a towing weight of 17,200 and a payload of 2450. That with the short bed apparently makes it a no-go for 5th wheelers.

Why is it so hard??

Before I bought it I had read several forums and it seemed that non-dually's could pull smaller 5th wheelers - but now I am getting the "I wouldn't do that" from the service managers at the places I have found some that interest me...