Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2020, 12:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
PulNSerenity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 346
Install an AC Unit

How hard is it to install an ac unit from scratch? Our 38' Montana is all wired up for a 2nd AC unit in the front bedroom, but currently just has the standard vent. I am fairly mechanically inclined, but should this be left to the RV service shops? Since this would have to be installed to the highest point of the camper I was considering one of those slimline (9.75") AC Units. Do those work fairly well?
__________________
2006 Keystone Montana 3500RL
2016 Ram 2500 w/Air Bags & Slider Hitch
PulNSerenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-20-2020, 12:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: In the boonies outside Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 289
Just had the front A/C on our eagle this spring... I had it installed. I went with the ultra low profile 13.5k BTU Coleman unit. Have to make sure you stay under 13' 6" overall height.
Surprizing to us the new unit blows more air than the rear 15 k BTU unit in the rear.
As for the install the mobile service sent two guys. One pulling the unit up the ladder on rope and the other pushing. They layed a moving blanket on roof. Unit weighs 85 lbs. Ours had the full raceway ducting.
Turn off the power breaker for front a/c
Remove the front vent and interior trim ring
Clean up the butyl tape and self leveling stuff on roof.
Then cut the foil covering the ducting on each side
Pulled electrical box and thermostat wiring into hole
Put foam gasket under unit
Set square in hole
Install the control board and hook up electrical and thermostat
I tall the partion board
Install thermostat
Install the interior panel
We installed digital thermostat
Interior panel was a chill grille
It works great!

RoadrunnerII
__________________
TV: 2016 F250 Lariat Screw 6.7 PSD
Trailer:2017 Jayco Eagle 321RSTS
RoadrunnerII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 09:19 PM   #3
Community Moderator


 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Full timing
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by PulNSerenity View Post
How hard is it to install an ac unit from scratch? Our 38' Montana is all wired up for a 2nd AC unit in the front bedroom, but currently just has the standard vent. I am fairly mechanically inclined, but should this be left to the RV service shops? Since this would have to be installed to the highest point of the camper I was considering one of those slimline (9.75") AC Units. Do those work fairly well?
Give these guys a call:
https://fixyourfridge.com/
I was there the 1st of July and they had several kinds sitting around. A friend had both of his replaced a couple of years ago and they gave them a 2 year warranty
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427/2016 golf cart (gas) sold
2013 Can Am Spyder RT Limited
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/4:10
2 Dachshunds DJ (RIP 9-12-19) & Joey (RIP 5-14-21)
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 08:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
HamboneTHW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 936
I have done the job myself. Not all that difficult, but I donít want to do it again. If youíre going to do it yourself, make sure you have a second person. They are bulky and heavy.
__________________
Tommy, Tiffany and Trace (along with the 4-legged children: Lexus and Chance)
2005 Alpine Coach 40FDTS
HamboneTHW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 08:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DGBPokes's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McAlester Ok
Posts: 2,057
Beware..a new unit, may or may not be compatible with an older thermostat. I just had a Penguin2 installed. You had to buy and install an addition board for it to work with my old thermostat
__________________
2007 Newmar KSDP. 3912
2010 Nissan Frontier SE
DGBPokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
HamboneTHW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGBPokes View Post
Beware..a new unit, may or may not be compatible with an older thermostat. I just had a Penguin2 installed. You had to buy and install an addition board for it to work with my old thermostat


Correct. New Dometic units require the CCCII thermostat. Thatís an incredibly simple part of the install.
__________________
Tommy, Tiffany and Trace (along with the 4-legged children: Lexus and Chance)
2005 Alpine Coach 40FDTS
HamboneTHW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 06:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
PulNSerenity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGBPokes View Post
Beware..a new unit, may or may not be compatible with an older thermostat. I just had a Penguin2 installed. You had to buy and install an addition board for it to work with my old thermostat

Yeah I have learned that lesson on my house thermostat. This will be an install from scratch. There is nothing there currently. The more I look at other large 5th wheels, it really surprises me that my 38 footer does not already have two units from the factory. The unit in the rear does alright but if the sun is really beating down on the roof the cold air in the duct work gets warmed before it makes it all the way to the front. If the wife starts to complain I tell her it's still much cooler than the tent we were in last year!
__________________
2006 Keystone Montana 3500RL
2016 Ram 2500 w/Air Bags & Slider Hitch
PulNSerenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JC Refrigeration - DC unit or 110 Volt 4-door Norcold replacement absorption unit. SmokyRV RV Systems & Appliances 27 09-20-2019 07:22 PM
Replaced basement air with new unit - old unit available Rcdukes Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 06-21-2019 05:12 PM
AC unit replaced and generator will not start unit (AC) BobBamaFan Travel Trailer Discussion 23 07-03-2018 11:04 PM
Dome unit vs Dish unit for TV Chemosavvy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 06-05-2016 05:39 PM
Replace cooling unit with Amish unit Keith727 Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-14-2013 09:45 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.