Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-11-2018, 07:39 PM   #1

"Newbie" with possible structural issue.

Hello to all,

At the onset, I would like to say "thank you" to all those who answer questions from folks like me. I used to be an Admin on an unrealted site, and I appreciate the effort.......

I just bought a 2011 30 foot Forest River 5th wheel. While climbing underneath the unit to route my water line, I bumped into a piece of angle iron bracing that connects two long angle iron braces that run the width of the unit about midway and about five feet apart, and discovered it wasnt welded on both ends. I check two more pieces and both of those were not welded either.

I cannot imagine why these pieces were only welded on one end. If this indeed an oversight, the unit made it out of the manufacturers "quality control" and the dealer that I bought it from didn't catch ot either. Is there any reason that three pieces of angle bracing under the unit would only be welded on one end?

Thanks.
vetplus40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!