RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2020, 03:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
TheGryme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SoCal Mountains (Wrightwood)
Posts: 9
No AC power in a 2003 Keystone Challenger 29 RPK......

Hi All,
I'm the "New Guy". I just bought a 2003 Keystone Challenger 29 RPK yesterday. My wife and I have been searching for a while. I got a good deal on this unit....
Everything worked at the dealership yesterday.
This morning I bought a heave duty 50 ft extension cord to connect the rig to house power. We have cleaning and tuning to do!
There is NO AC Power in the unit!
Power from the house is good, the extension cord has a power light in it.
What the heck? It worked yesterday. The dealer included the pig tails to connect to 50 amp and to 30 amp....I'm using the 30 to the 50 to the rig.
Nothing....no micro-wave or HVAC.
All of the 12 volt goodies seem to be working; H2O pump, front hydraulic leveling rams, lights, etc.
Can anyone here give me an idea as to what may be wrong or where to start?
I was thinking of moving it closer to the house and using a good 30 ft cord....
Any help will be appreciated!
TheGryme is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-25-2020, 04:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,897
What 30A outlet are you plugged into?

Do you have a generator?
YES...then issue could be ATS (Auto Transfer Switch)

NO...then check RV Main AC Panel Circuit Breakers....turn them OFF then HARD back ON
Also turn all individual branch CBs off/back on

12V System is probably being supplied by battery if no AC power for converter


Got a Voltmeter...know how to use it?
Check that 30A Outlet for 120VAC Power
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 05:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
TheGryme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SoCal Mountains (Wrightwood)
Posts: 9
Reply

Hi,
Nope, no generator.
I'm only plugged into a exterior outlet on my house.
I bet it's all of 20 or maybe 15 AMPS.
I have a 50 AMP 220 Volt connection on the house, but I stole the circuit for my MIG Welder.
I did re-set the internal breakers....they weren't popped and nothing happened after the reset.
Could it be that the power out of my outlet doesn't have enuf AMPS?
BTW....Thanks for the help!
TheGryme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 05:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Xmcdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,171
Plug something else into the new power cord. That may be your issue
Welcome aboard.

Again, Old Biscuit comes up with a great explanation.
__________________
Jeff and Annette Smith
04 Glendale Titanium 24E29 Fifth
2011 GMC Diesel 2500 HD
Xmcdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 06:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,897
So you have a 50A RV and are using a 50A extension cord PLUS 50A/30A adapter AND a 30A/15A adapter???


Regular household outlet is 15/20A MAX
If any other house items on on that same circuit you are very limited

Checked/reset all RV CBs....
Have you checked that the House CB for that outlet is tripped?

Do you have a voltmeter?
Do you know how to test AC Voltage using it?

Start at the House outlet
Then measure at output of EACH adapter, at outlet of extension cord, at RV Main AC Buss
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 06:38 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
TheGryme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SoCal Mountains (Wrightwood)
Posts: 9
Reply

Both extension cords that I bought have a small lite in them......both will glow when connected to the house. I'm going to Autozone now to get a Voltmeter.......mine is junk....I need to determine if it's just my house circuit or the wheeler.
TheGryme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 07:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,897
So what about the adapters/
How many are you using?
15/30
30/50
2 extension cords PLUS main rv cord???

How far away is rv from house outlet??

If any of those adapters are 'puck' style...toss in trash and get a dogbone style
Puck


Dogbone


Trying to help but you need to answer questions asked so a clearer understanding of what you have/are using
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 08:24 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
TheGryme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SoCal Mountains (Wrightwood)
Posts: 9
Solved!!!!!!!! YaY!!!!!

I got a el cheapo VOM from Auto Zone and found NO 120v coming into the rig on either extension. House current and grounds are good.....what the heck could it be?
The 30 AMP dogbone!
I was plugging it in for yet another test and saw it sparking. A little rubbing with a wire brush (even though it didn't look corroded) and we have POWER!!!!
Thanks Guys!
I really appreciate your help and expertise.
Someday I hope to be able to give advice and answers.
TheGryme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 08:28 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
TheGryme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SoCal Mountains (Wrightwood)
Posts: 9
FYI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
So what about the adapters/
How many are you using?
15/30
30/50
2 extension cords PLUS main rv cord???

How far away is rv from house outlet??

If any of those adapters are 'puck' style...toss in trash and get a dogbone style
Puck


Dogbone


Trying to help but you need to answer questions asked so a clearer understanding of what you have/are using
I have a 30ft HD. extension from the house to the rig. Then a 30 amp dogbone connected to a 50 amp dogbone to the wheeler. I hope that's not too many adapters in there. I'm pretty sure there is a HD extension cable with the correct ends on it already that I'll be purchasing soon.
TheGryme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
keystone, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Challenger :: 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT Rsapp iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-07-2016 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.