Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-22-2018, 05:00 PM   #1

Opinions on truck for towing 5th Wheel

DH and I are looking at a Palamino Columbus 320RS

GVWR 14636
Hitch Weight. 2422
UVW. 11636
OFF. 3000
37' 7"

We are total novices and looking forward to full-timing at retirement in a couple years. We have done lots of research on the RVs and are pretty set on the Palamino or a Montana. What we have zero confidence about is selecting an appropriate truck for the tow vehicle. We've been told Ford F350 DWR. Also, that we need a long bed. We're having trouble finding the long bed in that model, with duallys. Is it necessary to special order a truck for a fifth wheel or will it be possible to find them used?

Thanks for any help you can offer and putting up with what are probably obvious questions from newbies.
glendaembree is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!