Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-02-2022, 09:39 AM   #1

2003 Excursion with 6.0L Diesel

I'm just beginning the search for a larger vehicle to pull our 2020 Nash 23D. A friend of a friend is going sell his 2003 Excursion with the 6.0L diesel. Having just started to research this engine, I am concerned about it. I don't know if it has been "bullet-proofed".

This is the information I currently have about the vehicle:

223k miles with no rust on body or frame and never in an accident.
Supposedly over $20k in maintenance and upgrades since 2020 which include:
New A/C system/lines throughout (front and rear)
New pinion seal, valve cover gaskets, front main seal, oil pump gasket
New transmission filter and gasket
New 4x4 vacuum lines
New glow plugs
New thermostat, fan clutch, and fan shroud
New antifreeze reservoir and hoses
New alternator
New rotors and pads
New trac bar, drag link, inner/outer tie rods, shifter bushings, steering stalk
New brake master cylinder
New belt tensioner
Timbren SES (Suspension Enhancement System) rear suspension upgrade
Insight CTS2 Display SCT flash

So should I run away from this older vehicle? I haven't test driven it yet but supposedly it starts right up and runs great. What would be some of the MAJOR things I should be looking at?

Thanks in advance!
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!