Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-26-2019, 02:09 PM   #1

Best practice for steep downhill freeway grade

Although I've towed boats in the past, I'm new to towing a trailer.* Next week I'll be practicing with my new tow vehicle and new to me Casita, and want to ask about a downhill freeway grade that will be part of most of my trips.

When I used to drive our old Class A RV down this grade, I would often shift out of "OD" into regular D, using the engine to brake the rig a little.* My new Durango has regular drive, and then an option to shift into manual, which would then allow for a downshift.* Which is better, to do that, or to use my brakes, thereby of course using my trailer brakes, even if I end up using them quite a bit while going down the grade?

I hope this question makes sense.* I thought it would be good to ask for advice rather than start experimenting at 55 mph!
DebiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!