Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-01-2021, 11:01 AM   #1

Gooseneck vs 5th Wheel?

I have been towing TT for 30 years, but have never towed a fifth wheel or gooseneck trailer. I am completely uninformed about this sort of towing, so came to this community for help.

I did some searching but have not found a discussion of the pro and con of each style of hitch.

When my wife and I were looking for a new trailer last fall we were very interested in the layout of some of the shorter 5th wheel rigs. I just could not get over the issue of a hitch taking up my pick-up bed. As I read in another post, my truck is my daily driver to and from Home Depot. Taking a hitch in and out of the truck looks like a real hassle.

A gooseneck ball would mostly eliminate that issue. That seems to be really unusual for RVs, though. My question is “Why would people, and the RV industry in general, favor a 5th wheel over a gooseneck?”

For background, my last two trailers were about 28 feet hitch to bumper and about 10,000 lb gross weight. Most of our camping is short trips to national forests, so we wind up in tight quarters and on uneven ground. There are some 5th wheel rigs in the 32-ft range that are really appealing.

I hope this is not too basic of a question!
JHinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!