RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-24-2020, 01:03 AM   #1

Hot shotting using an RV?

Ok... newbie here. Boyfriend has a CDL license and we are at a place where we'd like to travel but supplement with some income. Our idea is to do hotshotting using an RV so we can take a paying load to an area, take some time to enjoy it, then grab a new paying load heading to another interesting spot.

We would be happy just making enough to pay for gas and expenses and can live off lighter loads on the broker boards.

My boyfriend has given me the mission of figuring out the best, most affordable RV that would still give us the most tow capacity. I see that Super C's have the most, but they are also big and expensive... their own weight eating up much of that GVWR.

Is there a smaller, Regular Class C that still uses a big engine and heavy duty transmission and drive train?

I saw one guy who modified a used Class C he got for under $15k and hugely increased his tow capacity. He spent another $5k but that would still be more affordable than a Super C. We just don't need that kind of size and luxury.

Any ideas from the experts on here? What models and brands to look for... how to modify to increase tow capacity, etc?
SueZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!