Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-09-2018, 08:03 AM   #1

NEWBIE here.. Needing guidance RAM 1500 and Travel Trailer

Hey all. I have some questions and I hope its not TOO much.

I am looking to buy a new truck and travel trailer.

My question is....
Almost every time I speak to someone about a Travel Trailer they tell me immediately, (many times without even knowing what travel trailer I'm looking at) and recommend a 2500 diesel.

Are there any reasons that the 2019 RAM cannot safely haul this camper?

Thanks in advance.

I'm looking at THIS trailer --> https://www.jayco.com/products/trave...-feather/27rl/

Unloaded Vehicle Weight (lbs) View Definition 5755
Dry Hitch Weight (lbs) View Definition 650
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (lbs) View Definition 7000
Cargo Carrying Capacity (lbs) View Definition 1245

I'm also looking at the 2019 RAM 1500 5.7L / 3.92 gear.

I ran the known weights through the Travel Trailer Calculator (found from this forum). There were some numbers I didnt know what to put.

Calculation Results Weight (lb)* Weight (kg)*
Maximum Trailer Weight
This is the maximum trailer weight based on the most restrictive tow vehicle ratings provided (GCWR - GVWR).

9,900 lb 4,491 kg
Maximum Trailer Weight with Margin
This is the maximum trailer weight based on the most restrictive tow vehicle ratings provided, reduced by a safety margin of 20%.

7,920 lb 3,592 kg
Maximum Tongue Weight