Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-07-2011, 10:38 PM   #1

Newbie with a truck and towing concern

Hi.

I am a newbie, this is my very first post. First of all, I really like this IRV2 site. Good stuff from so many folks (thank you).

My problem / concern.
My wife & I just bought a 30 ft. 2002 Holiday Rambler Presidential 5er. 10,000 lbs dry and a GVWR of 12,000 lbs. We own it.

So now I have to buy a truck. I came across a 2004 RAM 2500, with 5.9L Cummins TD, automatic, Quad Cab, Short Bed, 4x4, 3.73:1 axle ratio. Only to realize (per the spec sheets) I am very close to the limits of this truck's GVWR, payload and CGVR, etc.

If I can keep the weight of my "stuff" (to include water) to 1,000 lbs I might be able to use this truck. Is this a realistic number? Or should I go to Plan "B".

All comments / advice are appreciated and welcome.

Dmitri
Dmitri is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!