Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-14-2021, 07:49 AM   #1

Coastal Campers
OEM Prep vs Non-OEM Prep Fifth Wheel Hitch Use

All,
If this is a repeat subject I apologize up front. However, I need to make a decision within the next 6 weeks that may be costlier than I want to deal with. I am new to RVs and although I have hauled work trailers in the past I am not confident in making the correct decision regarding fifth wheel hitches for our soon-to-be new fifth wheel.

I currently own a 2021 F-250 with camper and trailer prep, but no OEM prep for a Fifth Wheel. We figured the truck would be good to haul the Alliance 310RL we were looking at to order. The plan was to get with a local trailer dealer to get a B&W 18K Fifth Wheel hitch along with installing a plug in the bed sidewall for the trailer electrical cable.

However, we determined in the end that the truck was too close to Cargo Capacity limits, due to the RVs pin weight, and have since put a 2022 F350 on order. Anticipated delivery for the truck is mid-to-late September per Ford. That truck will have all applicable and required OEM prep for fifth wheel and gooseneck trailer handling, trailer package, etc. We ordered the RV after ordering the F350, and I am still driving the F250 until the F350 arrives.