Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-28-2021, 10:17 PM   #1

Side to side movement of fifth wheel hitch.

I do not have a fifth wheel trailer but have noticed that fifth wheel trailers have many more frame issues than travel trailers. It got me to wondering why so I started looking at hitches and I found very few that were capable of tilting side to side as well as front to back. Having had a run as a semi driver I never gave it any thought as those trailers are quite a bit more rugged than a fiver. Looking at it now from an engineering point of view it would seem that unless the truck and trailer are at the same tilt there would be fairly large forces trying to find the weak link in the trailer frame.
For those that tow a fiver, does this seem like a valid observation? If so, why is it that there are so many hitches being used that do not tilt side to side? I presume this might be a reason to switch to a gooseneck hitch but they seem to have their own set of problems as the forces are distributed very differently from a flat fiver hitch. Not trying to change anything, just trying to figure out the issue.
I am sure I will get quite a bit of insight from the responses. Thanks in advance for helping figure this out.
Martian is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!