Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-13-2021, 06:36 PM   #1

Tell me what options I need on my new truck for pulling a TT?

My brother works at Ford and I'm getting ready to order a new F150 to pull a TT around 25ft or under and weigh less than 7,000 lbs. I haven't purchased the TT yet. I am asking because I don't shop with the dealer and choose options...I log online, use his PIN and price it out and order.

Anyway...I am not new to towing as I have towed boats my entire life but I am new to TT's and I realize they are a different animal. I will be pulling this over the mountains out west.

Sooo...what power plant should I pick? They have the 3.6L ecoboost that supposedly is rated for over 12k miles. Any negatives with towing long distance with a turbo?
What towing options should I pick? Anything particular?
Would you opt for the Hybrid. Will it save significant fuel on long tows? Would you utilize the generator feature much?
Stabilization options?
Thanks a bunch guys.
Homeby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!