Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-02-2019, 07:58 PM   #1

Thoughts on a 2019 Sequoia towing an Escape 21?

I am a newbie that has not yet bought a tow vehicle or trailer. I have read many of the posts in this discussion and have read extensively on towing on numerous sites. I have a good "book" knowledge of towing but haven't towed anything for 40 years. I've used various tow calculators reccommended here: Changin' gears, RV Tow Check and Truck and trailer weight calculator. The results appear to support the ability of the Sequoia to tow with a 15-20% safety margin. Here are the numbers of the TV and the trailer:

Sequoia 4WD
GVWR - 7,300
GCWR - 13,600
Curb wt - 5,730
GAWR front - 4,000
GAWR rear - 4,280
Cargo cap. - 1,275
Tow cap. 4WD - 7,100
Tongue max. - 650

Escape 21
GVWR - 5,000
UVW + options & - 3,650
propane

GAWR front - 3,015
GAWR rear - 3,015

I expect to have 800-1000 lbs of personal gear which will be split between the TV and the trailer as needed. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!