Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-01-2015, 02:50 AM   #1

To switch trucks or not

Hello every one. I am new to this form so please bare with me. I have two questions. First off I am pulling a 42' Cougar 5th wheel with a 2012 Ford F-250. Truck is full four door with 8' bed. Tows like a dream and can hold all of our extra gear, bikes, smoker etc. Right now I have an opportunity to purchase a 2015 Dodge 3500. Both are diesel,4*4 singles. The Dodge only has a 6.5' bed which obviously means a shorter wheel base. So that is my first question. Do you all notice any significant difference in towing, handling etc? Thoughts comments?
Second question, Ford fans please don't hate. This baby is my 4th power stroke and 7 th Ford pick up. How do the Dodges compare?
robcab is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!