Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-06-2019, 05:40 PM   #1

Question Trailer Brakes and Stabilizer Setup

Newbie here. I pull a 2003 Coachmen 24TBG with my 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7L Hemi. I towed it today for 90 miles over mostly county and state roads, avoiding major highways. My trailer was empty but for the cover in the rear storage. No propane or batteries were on board. The trip was uneventful but for one thing:

When braking, it "feels" like the trailer is braking first. My truck's brakes are newer, within the last 10 months. Upon braking i could feel the truck being tugged backwards a bit. When I approached coming to a complete stop the tugging feel increased and sort of pulsed a few times. Any ideas about this or am I just being welcomed into the wonderful world of towing with common occurrences?

When setting my stabilizer bars, should I have to use a bar for leverage to lock them into position? Is being able to do it by hand not appropriate?

Thanks for all your feedback.
jbiondi24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!