Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-10-2022, 01:34 PM   #1

Weight Distribution help

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the RV life and EVERYTHING that comes with it. With that said, we bought a 2022 Gulf Stream Ameri-Lite Super Lite 197BH bunkhouse floor plan.

Length 22 ft 11 in
Dry Weight 3663 lbs
Hitch Weight 638
GVWR 5058
Front Axle Weight 4400

I will be utilizing a 2018 Toyota Highlander SE to pull the RV. I have a CURT trailer high that is rated to 6000 pounds.

My big question, I want to make sure I am using the correct weight distribution/sway control. I was reading that if you get to much of a rating above what the RV weight is, can be very dangerous. I was looking at the Anderson 4" drop/rise weight distribution hitch #3324 that goes up to 10K lbs GTWR. I have read good reviews but they don't list anything under 10K.

Any help with that and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
ProjectZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!