Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-24-2019, 08:27 PM   #1

Question ONAN 5500 Marquis Gold generator help

Hello all,
I'm new to rving and can use some help. I have attached a video of what my generator is doing and I am hoping that someone on here can tell me what I can do to fix it. Thanks in advance

I am going to try to give out all the details so that I can get the best help.
So I have a onboard gas powered onan 5500 marquis gold generator. I bought the trailer with the generator not working... I put on a new carb and then it was was working but would not operate at full load and was spitting fuel out the intake. I found out the it was only running on one cyclinder because one of my valves was stuck. I was able to get the valve unstuck then I did a valve adjustment on all of the valves.

The problem is now, the generator will start and run for 7 seconds and shuts off. I can start it multiple times and it runs for about 7 seconds every time. I am getting the error code 37.

Someone told me to try to bypass the fuel pump and filter to make sure fuel is not the problem, so the current video is done with it being gravady fed. I think it should also be noted that even if I am spraying carb cleaner in the carb it still dies at about 7 seconds. Any help would be greatly appreciately as I am going crazy trying to figure this out.
Thanks
JBerrett