RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2021, 10:22 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 597
If your planning to be in the state or national parks here in the east. Probably not. The older campgrounds out here can't handle it.

Dusty
dustyone is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-22-2021, 07:25 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montana, Arizona
Posts: 596
I'd recommend you buy a digital multimeter first. As for your question, maybe is the answer. Give it a try and see what it does.
With both running, check an outlet with your multimeter and see how many volts you have. If they both work and you have 108v or fewer, shut one off. You can run on that voltage but you may kill your AC doing so. If you are above 108 you should be OK but 116v or more would be better. Be aware that voltage will drop when the compressor kicks on. One trick is to keep your refer and water heater on propane. And don't run the microwave!
__________________
2016 Arctic Fox 27-5L
2018 GMC 3500 Duramax
2018 JLUR
MtCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 07:32 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by MtCamper View Post
I'd recommend you buy a digital multimeter first. As for your question, maybe is the answer. Give it a try and see what it does.
With both running, check an outlet with your multimeter and see how many volts you have. If they both work and you have 108v or fewer, shut one off. You can run on that voltage but you may kill your AC doing so. If you are above 108 you should be OK but 116v or more would be better. Be aware that voltage will drop when the compressor kicks on. One trick is to keep your refer and water heater on propane. And don't run the microwave!
Bad advice. Voltage is not the main issue here, amperage is. You can have 120 volts but still blow a breaker because you are drawing too many amps.

Like the poster before said, donít overthink it. When on 30 amps you can easily run just one AC, which may leave you a bit warm in the day but will be more than comfortable to sleep at night.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
2018 Lincoln MKX
MRUSA14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 07:59 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,449
Even if your Rig is in perfect condition and you are managing your consumption, the real issue is the quality of power at the CG. The primary reason for "30 amp only" CG's is they are old and outdated.....based on infrastructure and worn equipment--you will be lucky to get 120v and 30 amps. Spending a lot of time figuring out how you can "live" on 29.5 amps probably wont be very productive. IMHO
__________________
Old Scout
2003 Alpine 40' MDTS
New Braunfels, Texas
Old Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 09:51 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
SailorSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Persistent View Post
13 + 13 + 13 = 39 amps. The circuit breaker will trip.

Not necessarily. Breakers are thermal devices and trip due to increase in temperature caused by current flow. Marginally exceeding the amp limit will trip the breaker EVENTUALLY. That is a, a dead short causes a current flow of 100's of amps and the breaker trips almost instantly. Running 33 amps on a 30 amp breaker may continue for seconds to many minutes. You see this everyday - an AC unit at startup draws well over 40 amps, but just for a few milliseconds and the breaker does not trip. So in this case if the microwave is only on for a short period, everything may continue running. On the other hand, an old breaker will heat up faster and trip quicker.
__________________
Al
SE Michigan, F-150 Plat SCrew, Flagstaff 26 FKWS, ProPride
SailorSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 09:58 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
SKP Kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Part-time out of Bass Lake Retirement Community
Posts: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by SailorSam View Post
Not necessarily. Breakers are thermal devices and trip due to increase in temperature caused by current flow. .
Circuit breakers are designed with 3 different trip points. What is called "long time", "short time," and "instantaneous." The first is typically about 110% of rated load, the second more like 150% of rated load and instantaneous is usually on the order of 10 X rated load. The actual numbers vary by intended use and manufacturer.

As a circuit breaker ages the trip points begin to fall. An older breaker will often only carry about 80% of rated load if constant.
__________________
Good Travelin! Kirk
Full-time 11 years, now part-time.
Kirk & Pam's Great Adventure!
SKP Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 10:00 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
mrpardee's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 316
I'm on a 30 amp site now and can run both ACs if i don't run anything else. I'm in Fort Meyers so AC is needed. I have my water heater on propane and will turn one AC off if I need to use micro or clothes dryer. I have tripped breaker while running both ACs but was because of water heater. I also have my auto gen start on just in case. I do have the soft start capacitors though and when both are on i'm running at 22 amps.
__________________
Randy and Michele
2017 Pace Arrow 38K, 2017 Jeep Wrangler
mrpardee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 11:54 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Randy the sly old fox's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR, USA
Posts: 1,255
In theory you should not be able to run both AC units - a 50A service is actually more like your house - two 120V and a neutral plus ground. the panel should alternate between the two "phases" of 120V. One AC should be hooked to one phase and the second to the other. The 50 to 30 A dogbone only connects one of the 120 lines. Most RVs I have seen reserve the second AC circuit for the bedroom AC so you can still run the bulk of the unit on a 30A service.
__________________
2017 Chevy 2500HD LTZ DuraMax Diesel Silver Ice Metallic
2017 Outdoors RV Timber Ridge 25RDS Mountain Series 4X Off Road Suspension Pkg
Randy the sly old fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 03:48 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy the sly old fox View Post
In theory you should not be able to run both AC units - a 50A service is actually more like your house - two 120V and a neutral plus ground. the panel should alternate between the two "phases" of 120V. One AC should be hooked to one phase and the second to the other. The 50 to 30 A dogbone only connects one of the 120 lines. Most RVs I have seen reserve the second AC circuit for the bedroom AC so you can still run the bulk of the unit on a 30A service.
Dog bones connect the single 30 amp hot to both hots of the 50 amp plug.

All breakers will be powered.

Here is an X Ray view, showing the jumper in the 50 amp side.Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture%2B_2021-02-23-04-45-10.jpeg
Views:	3
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	318986
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 07:14 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy the sly old fox View Post
The 50 to 30 A dogbone only connects one of the 120 lines.
That would describe a 50A shore power to 30A coach dog bone, where only one of the two 50A phase conductors in the pedestal is connected to the single 30A phase conductor in the TT-30R receptacle end.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 09:55 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Randy the sly old fox's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR, USA
Posts: 1,255
Yep I stand corrected. I realized this morning that I was thinking of the opposite situation - simply because that is where I have found myself being the owner of a rig with only one AC and a 30A set up.
__________________
2017 Chevy 2500HD LTZ DuraMax Diesel Silver Ice Metallic
2017 Outdoors RV Timber Ridge 25RDS Mountain Series 4X Off Road Suspension Pkg
Randy the sly old fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 10:38 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy the sly old fox View Post
. . . myself being the owner of a rig with only one AC and a 30A set up.
I'm in the same situation, and I've found the 50-30A dog bone useful where the 30A receptacle in the pedestal is pretty beat up and loose, while the 50A in the same pedestal is in much better shape. Got that idea here, in fact, and my FIL had already given me a brand new one he had laying around. I carry it in my box of stuff, just in case, and have used it twice so far.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with very unlevel sites & leveling creep KamiwillRV 5th Wheel Discussion 14 04-12-2018 03:03 AM
Web sites & Resource Suggestions for finding Work Camping Jobs Kro1957 Workkamping & Volunteering 2 08-08-2017 06:01 PM
Newmar ready to build new service facility & camp sites StuartS Newmar Owner's Forum 1 07-13-2017 11:44 PM
Updated Monaco & HR web sites SRT Monaco Owner's Forum 11 07-24-2014 10:40 AM
B&B with 2 RV sites slick60 Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 2 12-10-2010 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.