Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2022, 08:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
payan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
30 amperes exterior outlet not working

Hello everybody,

I need your help. 2 days ago, my travel trailer was connected at an electric 30 amp pedestal with my 30 amp rear exterior outlet. It works well but suddenly my surge protector cut off the power. After my investigations, all my appliances, my interior outlets and 30 amp exterior front outlet worked well except my rear 30 amp outlet. Since 2 days, I change for a new campground, all works well except my 30 amp exterior outlet.

So, how to fix my 30 amp exterior outlet? Do I change the 30 amp fuse situated on the A frame?

Thank you in advance to help me.
payan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2022, 08:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 170
So you have 2, 30 amp inputs to your RV?
Come that way from the factory?
Does one work and the other not working?
Do you know if they are individually fused?
__________________
2015 FR cedar creek , silverback 33IK
2015 chevy 3500HD
kcmusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 08:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 27,051
Ok ; your RV operates on 120 volts, your power supply from the park has a 30 amp load limit for all your appliances and outlets that is distributed through the RV's interior 120 volt , circuit breaker panel .
If all your appliances and other outlets are functioning ; except the exterior 120 volt outlet ( most likely controlled by a 15 amp circuit breaker in the panel ) .
First thing to do is find the 120 volt distribution panel and make sure none of the circuit breakers are tripped ( by turning them off and back on ) .
If you still have no power to the outside outlet , and the outlet isn't a GFCI that needs to be reset , then you have to look inside the RV for a GFCI that needs to be reset ; most likely in the bathroom or kitchen.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GFIC info.pdf (257.6 KB, 3 views)
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 08:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 27,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by payan View Post
So, how to fix my 30 amp exterior outlet? Do I change the 30 amp fuse situated on the A frame?
.
The 30 amp fuse on the trailer tongue , is for your 12 volt circuits ; power supplied from the battery ; and isn't involved in 120 volt distribution.

If the info in the posts so far isn't helpful , were going to need pictures of the outlet you're having trouble with .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 09:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by payan View Post
Hello everybody,

I need your help. 2 days ago, my travel trailer was connected at an electric 30 amp pedestal with my 30 amp rear exterior outlet. It works well but suddenly my surge protector cut off the power. After my investigations, all my appliances, my interior outlets and 30 amp exterior front outlet worked well except my rear 30 amp outlet. Since 2 days, I change for a new campground, all works well except my 30 amp exterior outlet.

So, how to fix my 30 amp exterior outlet? Do I change the 30 amp fuse situated on the A frame?

Thank you in advance to help me.
We need more info, what is the trailer? Airstream? Are you referring to inlets or outlets? Is this a Smartplug?
__________________
Brian, 2011 Winnebago Via Class A on Sprinter Chassis
Tucson, AZ
https://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/1040577.png
bigb56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 10:19 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
payan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
I have a 2013 Airstream Flying Cloud 25 RB. I reset my GFCI. All is correct except for the rear 30 amp exterior inlet.
payan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 11:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by payan View Post
I have a 2013 Airstream Flying Cloud 25 RB. I reset my GFCI. All is correct except for the rear 30 amp exterior inlet.
OK with the Airstream inlets there is a history of the connections on the back of the inlet getting hot and deteriorating, you have to remove the inlet to get at the back of it.
If the connections are OK the next issue is the isolation or transfer switch which automatically switches back and forth depending on which inlet you decide to use, it could have failed.
I see you are a member at Airforums, there are many folks there who understand this system and will eventually get you the help you need.
__________________
Brian, 2011 Winnebago Via Class A on Sprinter Chassis
Tucson, AZ
https://badges.fuelly.com/images/sig-us/1040577.png
bigb56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 11:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 11,861
Question, I'm confused as per normal....

Does his model of Airstream have two 30 amp inputs?
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Living is hazardous to your health.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 12:34 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
payan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
Yes , 2 30 amp inlets. Only, one works
payan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 01:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
CharlesinGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: South of Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,841
They have one on the rear as required by code, and another one up front (it was an option, possibly standard now) so you can have a generator in your truck bed and not need such a long cord.

There is an automatic transfer switch somewhere. It is designed to prevent the exposed prongs of the unused inlet from shocking someone. It accepts power from the inlet you hook the cord to, and separates the other inlet completely so it is not accidentally hot.

As noted, you could have a wiring issue with the inlet that will not accept shore power, or the automatic transfer switch is not working for some reason.

Charles
__________________
'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO six speed std cab long bed Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. Previously, 2008 Thor Freedom Spirit 180, SOLD! 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome, SOLD!
CharlesinGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 01:59 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 22,209
The Two 30A Receptacles are wired to an Auto Transfer Switch
ATS selects which Power Source to send AC to your Main AC Panel

As you were using the Rear Receptacle the ATS contacts/relay for that power source are bad
OR the Rear receptacle is bad.

Need to pull the rear receptacle out and check the wiring/connections
Need to open the ATS and check the wiring/contacts-relays for the rear receptacle
ONE of them has failed..


***I have dual 50A receptacles front/rear on my 5th wheel
ATS failed/New ATS was bad out of the box......Parallex admitted issues with the ATS

I removed the ATS....installed a 125A subpanel with dual mechanically interlocking sets of 50A circuit breakers
One set for front/one set for rear -----flip one set ON other set mechanically trips so both can not be energized as same time

Simple...
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 09:00 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
payan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
Thank you everyone. Sorry for the delay. I am presently in vacation in Newfoundland and Labrador. There are few spots for phone and internet. I will check for connections and transfert switch.

Again thank you
payan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best 30 amperes surge protector payan Travel Trailer Discussion 6 02-17-2016 06:23 AM
12 Volt outlet frying small outlet inverter RVer402 MH-General Discussions & Problems 23 01-21-2016 04:27 PM
Exterior Outlet Location > CC 330 Inspire ducmons Country Coach Owners Forum 4 06-25-2013 09:32 AM
Icemaker outlet vs. Refrigerator outlet kketterling Monaco Owner's Forum 1 07-27-2011 05:37 PM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-08-2006 04:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.