Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2022, 07:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 297
50 Amp From Old 30 Amp

So, we recently had our old trailer totaled due to wind.

The old trailer was just the standard 30 amp 110 system.

Well, we just cut a deal on a new Coleman Light 2715RL which has the 50 amp system.
I'm assuming that the 50 amp system is a 220 volt system?

Naturally, we have all the gear (cords, adapters, etc...) for 30 amp. Even have a Champion generator that has the RV 30 amp socket.

Am I going to have to completely change all the gear including the generator? Heck, the generator only has about 30 hours total on it. I just changed the break in oil at the end of last summer and it hasn't even been used yet this year.


Also, is it even possible to plug the 50 system into a standard home 20 amp service for charging batteries, lights, and fridge while at home and using it as a "man cave" or "dog house" when I'm in trouble with the wife?

I've never owned an RV with the 50 amp system, so this is kind of new for me.

Thanks to all in advance.
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-26-2022, 07:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,747
You just need a 50 amp to 30 amp adaptor and you can plug into any 30 amp outlet, including the generator.

You can't run more the 30 amps worth of stuff so some power management will be needed.

For plugging in at home, they make a 50 amp to 15 amp adaptor.

PS : It's 120 or 240 volts now days.
50 amp service is 120/240 volt service. The 240 volts is spit to 2 120 volt legs for most RV use.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2022, 07:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 22,096
50A.......Two 120VAC Legs, 1 Neutral, 1 ground

Because 50A has Two 50A hots.......that is 6000W each/total of 12,000W
30A is only One Hot...3600W total

You can use an adapter 50A to 30A and hookup to 30A
You can use an adapter 50A to 30A then 30A to 15A and hookup to standard house outlet (Limited to 15A total)
**Everything is 120V

50A RV has TWO 50A Main CBs
Each one feds 1/2 of your Main Power Panel
Individual branch circuits are 'balanced' on the two busses (sorta)
*If the 50A Main CBs are at the top of Panel then individual branch CBs are every other one (one on one buss, one on other buss)
**If 50A Main CVs are in middle of Panel then one buss feds the upper individual CBs and one buss feds lower individual CBs

240V is available if an appliance requires it.
*Induction Stove top etc


Enjoy your new 5vr!
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2022, 06:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
50A.......

240V is available if an appliance requires it.
*Induction Stove top etc


Enjoy your new 5vr!
A quick warning... if you do wire up a 240V item, like an induction stove... you CAN'T use it any time you are plugged into a 30Amp RV outlet with an adapter dogbone.

The 30A to 50A dogebone ties both 50A legs together into one 120V single circuit.
jrollf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2022, 07:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 297
Thanks guys. Makes much more sense now.
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 01:02 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 389
If that camper has 2 AC units, you need 50 amp to run them both. Otherwise, 30 amp will run the entire camper. They give it 50 amp capable in case of adding another AC.
__________________
2021 Rockwood 2614BS
CamperLifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 06:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamperLifer View Post
If that camper has 2 AC units, you need 50 amp to run them both. Otherwise, 30 amp will run the entire camper. They give it 50 amp capable in case of adding another AC.
That makes sense. It has the vent up front with the circuit for a second AC unit.
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 07:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 601
The benefit of 50 amp is you can operate 2 AC's or 1 AC and MW or hair dryer or 2 electric heaters.

I'm assuming that the 50 amp system is a 220 volt system? No it should be 110 volt, unless you purchased a European model but then the frequency will be different and you would need a step down transformer to operate your US 110 volt appliances

Am I going to have to completely change all the gear including the generator? No

Is it even possible to plug the 50 system into a standard home 20 amp service for charging batteries, lights, and fridge while at home Yes with the appropriate adapters
__________________
2020 Montana 3780RL fifth wheel / 2016 F-350 6.7L diesel crew cab long bed 4x2 DRW
2022 Entegra Vision 27A / 2021 Chevy Equinox LT AWD toad
Camp CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 07:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camp CA View Post

Is it even possible to plug the 50 system into a standard home 20 amp service for charging batteries, lights, and fridge while at home Yes with the appropriate adapters

Absolutely.


Common are 15/20 male to 30 female adapter



AND
30 male to 50 amp female adapter to your 50 amp shore power cord.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 07:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camp CA View Post

Is it even possible to plug the 50 system into a standard home 20 amp service for charging batteries, lights, and fridge while at home Yes with the appropriate adapters
Yep. I have all the adapters for the 30A system. I just need the adapter that allows 50A to 30A.

I'll need the female 50A to male 30A.

Looking around, they are pretty regularly available.
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 04:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camp CA View Post
The benefit of 50 amp is you can operate 2 AC's or 1 AC and MW or hair dryer or 2 electric heaters.
I hope you can run a lot more than that on 50 amps. As stated above that is 12,000 watts vs 3600 watts on a 30 amp.

2 A/C, even 15,000 BTU ones are under 3O amp or 3600 watts. Add a microwave you are still under 20 amps or 2400 watts. You still have 50 amps or 6000 watts left over. You can turn on your 3rd AC, your electric water heater and still have lots of power left over.

The rule I give my wife is that you can run 1 big item on the inverter, 2 large items on 30 amp (I do have load support from my inverter if needed) and run everything in the RV on 50 amp and still have left over.
__________________
2014 Volvo 630 Tandem 2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 1400w Solar
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 05:55 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 7
50a is most definitely a 240 system. Actually a 240/120 system.
Wire4money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 07:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wire4money View Post
50a is most definitely a 240 system. Actually a 240/120 system.
Yes, you can use two pole breakers (if your breaker panel is able too) to get 240v. However, in my experiance, it is pretty rare anything in a US built RV is ever wired to use 240v.

In addition, if you do have 240v appliances, you have to be real careful using any power adapters, like a 30a to 50a dogbone, as you will NOT have 240v while using the adapter and can burn up 240v appliances.

240v is created by two hot wires of 120v AC that are 180 degrees out of phase. When you use a 30a to 50a doggone, the two hot wires are cross tied to the same power source so you have 120v on each leg that are in phase... which will not provide 240v.
jrollf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 03:19 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrollf View Post

In addition, if you do have 240v appliances, you have to be real careful using any power adapters, like a 30a to 50a dogbone, as you will NOT have 240v while using the adapter and can burn up 240v appliances.

.
You can't burn up 240 volt appliances with adaptors, they just won't work.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 RV chassis Mods & parts & Tech info new & old chassis "007" Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 09-27-2011 07:26 AM
How old is too old? JSPERRELLA Class A Motorhome Discussions 77 07-24-2011 05:26 PM
how old is to old larry r Monaco Owner's Forum 20 12-12-2007 02:27 AM
How old is too old? PeteB Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 10-13-2007 12:35 PM
How old is too old? tiniree 5th Wheel Discussion 9 07-02-2005 07:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.