Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-09-2019, 09:31 PM   #1

Comparing mid-size SUVs for towing -- also factory tow pkg

I am just beginning my search for a very small travel trailer, for just me, and a mid-size SUV to tow it. Will likely buy SUV new, because I tend to keep cars forever and I want a great warranty. My normal yearly mileage is very low

I was strongly considering Hyundai Sante Fe XL or Kia Sorento, with towing capacity of 5000 lbs, and that great 10 yr/ 100K warranty. When I was only perusing Scamp or Casita websites, that looked like enough capacity.

But I need to buy closer to home (So Cal), not thousands of miles away, and as I expand my search, the dry weights get closer to 3000 lbs , possibly 3500 lbs, and tongue weights closer to 400 lbs. And that's without A/C and maybe an awning option on the listed weight, plus of course water and stuff.

So now I'm wondering about SUVs like Dodge Durango (has Mopar MaxCare warranty available for purchase) or Jeep Grand Cherokee. These are rated at around 6200 lbs towing capacity, which seems more like it.

Any comments re possible SUVs for trailers around 15-17 feet max, 3500 lbs dry.

Also, is it best to find SUVs that have factory tow packages that include factory transmission cooling? Any suggestions as to which makers do that? Didn't seem to be true for Hyundai / Kia.