Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2022, 02:20 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Surprise AZ
Posts: 701
Send a message via AIM to mike.t Send a message via MSN to mike.t Send a message via Yahoo to mike.t
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthepines View Post
not my possession to tell you what to do with it or how you do it.
Position?
__________________
2021 Coleman 286RKWE 2021 Silverado 1500 3.0
Timing has a lot to do with the outcome of a rain dance.
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2022, 02:32 PM   #44
tcg
Senior Member
 
tcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.t View Post
Not as smart as you folks, isn't a 30 amp breaker different from a 30 amp plug?
I have a 30 amp 120 volt circuit (30 amp breaker) with a 30 amp outlet that I plug my 30 amp shore cord into on the side of my house. That outlet is fed with a 10 gauge wire from the breaker per licensed electrician and inspector.
tcg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 02:38 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Surprise AZ
Posts: 701
Send a message via AIM to mike.t Send a message via MSN to mike.t Send a message via Yahoo to mike.t
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcg View Post
I have a 30 amp 120 volt circuit (30 amp breaker) with a 30 amp outlet that I plug my 30 amp shore cord into on the side of my house. That outlet is fed with a 10 gauge wire from the breaker per licensed electrician and inspector.
Thanks. 10 the min to get approved? Would 8 have been better?
__________________
2021 Coleman 286RKWE 2021 Silverado 1500 3.0
Timing has a lot to do with the outcome of a rain dance.
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 02:47 PM   #46
tcg
Senior Member
 
tcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.t View Post
Thanks. 10 the min to get approved? Would 8 have been better?
I am not an electrician and I never plan on having an RV big enough that would require 50 amp but if I did I would have future proofed it with 6 gauge

Ask a liscensed electrician or your city inspector what is code.

But... In my non electrician opinion 8 gauge for 30 amp is overkill and it's harder to run. Unless you have special needs which is why you should ask a real electrician.
tcg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 02:55 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Surprise AZ
Posts: 701
Send a message via AIM to mike.t Send a message via MSN to mike.t Send a message via Yahoo to mike.t
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcg View Post
I am not an electrician and I never plan on having an RV big enough that would require 50 amp but if I did I would have future proofed it with 6 gauge

Ask a liscensed electrician or your city inspector what is code.

But... In my non electrician opinion 8 gauge for 30 amp is overkill and it's harder to run. Unless you have special needs which is why you should ask a real electrician.
Again. you folks know more about this stuff than I do, however, 8 gauge regarding electricity is not overkill. Your electric buddy could run 8 in a 10 X10 with 10 outlets without any issues, ask him ;o)
__________________
2021 Coleman 286RKWE 2021 Silverado 1500 3.0
Timing has a lot to do with the outcome of a rain dance.
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 03:04 PM   #48
tcg
Senior Member
 
tcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.t View Post
Again. you folks know more about this stuff than I do, however, 8 gauge regarding electricity is not overkill. Your electric buddy could run 8 in a 10 X10 with 10 outlets without any issues, ask him ;o)
Why are you asking if you have the answer?

I don't have an electric buddy. I'm only going by what code was when my 30 amp outlet was installed.

I'm only talking about a single 30 amp outlet, you seem to be talking about a sub panel.

My advice is still, talk to a licensed electrician about your needs.
tcg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 10:39 PM   #49
ODH
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 52
How do you pull 37.5 amps through a properly functioning 30 amp breaker? You are mixing apples and oranges. The NEC codes mentioned are used to determine the size of the circuit breaker required which in turn determines the size of the wire needed. 10 is the proper size for a 30 amp breaker. The only time it would be justified to use a larger wire would be if the distance causes a voltage drop that would result in unsatisfactory performance of the equipment. At no time will more than 30 amps flow through a 30 amp breaker.


Electrical Engineer with 40 yrs experience.
__________________
2011 Ford F-250 Lariat Super Cab 6.7L Power Stoke Diesel
2019 Outdoor RV Titanium Timber Ridge 24RKS
ODH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 06:29 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 882
I suspect that by 'twisting' the 80% requirement, some electrician can sell you oversized wiring... "all to code".
The 80% 'rule' is that you will not run more than 80% of the wire or breakers max. current capability. So for a 30A breaker, you shall not load it up more than 80% or 24A. Period. #10 wire can be rated 30, 35 or even 40A, depending on the type...

So when people run two A/Cs and their microwave on a 30A circuit, they may end up with burnt wiring and attachments.
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 09:28 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldWEB View Post
I suspect that by 'twisting' the 80% requirement, some electrician can sell you oversized wiring... "all to code".
The 80% 'rule' is that you will not run more than 80% of the wire or breakers max. current capability. So for a 30A breaker, you shall not load it up more than 80% or 24A. Period. #10 wire can be rated 30, 35 or even 40A, depending on the type...

So when people run two A/Cs and their microwave on a 30A circuit, they may end up with burnt wiring and attachments.
I was just wondering the other day. This is my first 50a camper with 2 AC's. I know with my last 30a 1ac camper you couldn't run everything or it would trip breakers so we never ran the water heater on electric since it was a huge draw and didn't use much propane. Probably do the same with this one but I am curious if I could run both AC's and the water heater and have enough left over for tvs and a microwave. I'll look it up but my initial thoughts are no.
0rion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 10:16 PM   #52
ODH
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
I was just wondering the other day. This is my first 50a camper with 2 AC's. I know with my last 30a 1ac camper you couldn't run everything or it would trip breakers so we never ran the water heater on electric since it was a huge draw and didn't use much propane. Probably do the same with this one but I am curious if I could run both AC's and the water heater and have enough left over for tvs and a microwave. I'll look it up but my initial thoughts are no.
"So when people run two A/Cs and their microwave on a 30A circuit, they may end up with burnt wiring and attachments"


No they will not. The 30 amp circuit breaker will trip long before any damage is done.


"This is my first 50a camper with 2 AC's. I know with my last 30a 1ac camper you couldn't run everything or it would trip breakers so we never ran the water heater on electric since it was a huge draw and didn't use much propane. Probably do the same with this one but I am curious if I could run both AC's and the water heater and have enough left over for tvs and a microwave."


Remember that a 50 amp RV circuit is 220v, which means you have 100 amps available for 110v. This means you have plenty of amps to run 2 AC units, a microwave and other 110v circuits if your circuits are spread fairly equaling between the 2 sides of the 220v panel.
__________________
2011 Ford F-250 Lariat Super Cab 6.7L Power Stoke Diesel
2019 Outdoor RV Titanium Timber Ridge 24RKS
ODH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 11:07 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODH View Post

"This is my first 50a camper with 2 AC's. I know with my last 30a 1ac camper you couldn't run everything or it would trip breakers so we never ran the water heater on electric since it was a huge draw and didn't use much propane. Probably do the same with this one but I am curious if I could run both AC's and the water heater and have enough left over for tvs and a microwave."


Remember that a 50 amp RV circuit is 220v, which means you have 100 amps available for 110v. This means you have plenty of amps to run 2 AC units, a microwave and other 110v circuits if your circuits are spread fairly equaling between the 2 sides of the 220v panel.
So this brings up my follow up question haha......since 50a is a 220 line then when you dog leg it to a 30 does it just pull 110 from one side of the dogleg?
0rion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2022, 09:29 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
Gigattime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Perrin View Post
What does everyone use to store their electric cord for shore power? Is there some sort of reel?
I’m getting tired of looping it over my shoulder and elbow and stuffing it in a bin
Thanks in advance!
Moryde makes a cord reel for that.

Click image for larger version

Name:	SmartSelect_20220616-232731_Chrome.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	368519
Gigattime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, storage



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Cord Reel - Can I replace the Cord? Clocked Out Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 02-11-2020 12:40 PM
Electric power cord reel doesn't retract cord BillinRedStick Monaco Owner's Forum 4 02-12-2019 05:21 AM
2018 dutchstar Electric Cord Reel for 50 Amp Power Cord vett Newmar Owner's Forum 1 08-10-2017 07:31 PM
Adapter for 50amp cord to regular extension cord? TwoDog RV Systems & Appliances 21 06-10-2016 08:27 AM
50 amp welding cord to 50 amp rv cord JSPERRELLA RV Systems & Appliances 18 05-19-2013 02:48 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.