Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-25-2021, 03:30 PM   #1

I Need Some Coaching On Refueling Stops

Last week was the first time I've had to stop for gas while still towing the trailer. Yes, I'm a real newbie who hasn't strayed far from home yet!

I tried a Love's and a Pilot, thinking that since they cater to the semis there should be plenty of maneuvering room for my RAM 2500 and 34' TT. I followed the signs to the back where the truckers were heading since the front looked pretty tight with lots of cars and not much maneuvering room. Well, all I saw back there was diesel pumps, no regular gas. Am I missing something or is it indeed diesel only in the back?

So I exited and tried the station next door since it wasn't as crowded. Still required some very tight turns and I was very uncomfortable with the spacing - terrified I would bump someone's car or hit a pump. My blood pressure was pretty high by the time I got out of there.

I know I need to practice more in a big, empty lot but I need advice in the meantime.

Is there a certain branded station that is known to have extra room for RV's? How do you plan your fuel stops to take advantage of these locations? Is there an app or website that you use to plan your trips, specifically with fuel stops in mind?

Thanks!
Dr. Dolittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!