Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-07-2020, 11:44 PM   #1

Lightweight TT vs Heavy?

I'm a newbie and I'm SURE this question has been asked a lot. I don't own a TT yet, but have looked at info on the Lance brand. I have a 2016 Ford Expedition EL with the heavy duty trailer tow package. It's rated to tow up to 9,000 pounds. We are looking for a trailer to live in for several winter months in warmer climates such as Florida. Other than the description of "light" or "ultralight", what am I losing (other than weight) by going to a lighter weight trailer such as a Lance at around 7800 GVWR as opposed to an Arctic Fox at 10,000 GVWR? Obviously my rig couldn't pull the Arctic Fox, but what differentiates a Lance from a Fox? Structural integrity? Better long term durability?
Cuz_51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!