Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2021, 12:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 11
Odd switch cover?

Do anyone know what's the use for the cover switch in a master bedroom is use for ?

Dutchman classic 360 1994
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16346631380335992448744307787407.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	346518  
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-19-2021, 12:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 24,888
Welcome to iRV2 .

Best guess would be a termination box for a roof air conditioner pre wire .

Have you had the cover plate off , to see what's behind it?
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 12:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,910
YEP......
Pre wired for 2nd A/C Unit
120VAC wiring inside that blank cover plate
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 01:08 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 11
Odd this is a 30amp camper ?? How can two acs work?


also can this be turned into a 50amp?
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 01:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightmare View Post
Odd this is a 30amp camper ?? How can two acs work?

also can this be turned into a 50amp?
You either:
manage the ACs usage to just one at a time;
convert yer breaker panel to 50A; or
wire the 2nd AC wires to a separate 12AWG cable and plug it into the 20A receptacle on the pedestal.
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 01:57 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldWEB View Post
You either:
manage the ACs usage to just one at a time;
convert yer breaker panel to 50A; or
wire the 2nd AC wires to a separate 12AWG cable and plug it into the 20A receptacle on the pedestal.
So how can I convert 30 into 50? Do I remove all the wires and replace it all by the wall panels or something??
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 02:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,969
You replace circuit breaker box, auto transfer switch, power cord, and any wiring between them.

The new breaker box will have a double 50 amp breaker.

You go from 10 Guage to 6 gauge wiring.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 02:07 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 11
Ah okay, well I'm not sure if I can do it but I can try.. do I have to also replace the wires from the main walls ?
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 03:27 PM   #9
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightmare View Post
Ah okay, well I'm not sure if I can do it but I can try.. do I have to also replace the wires from the main walls ?
Just reading the thread on this, I would suggest from your electrical skill level, if you want to upgrade your 30 amp to 50 amp that you hire it done.

Most of the cost is going to be parts anyway. You'll need a dedicated RV 50 amp breaker box, you'll need to upgrade the transfer switch, as well as the lines from the transfer switch to the distribution panel, the power cord will need to be upgraded. Also depending on where your power converter is, you may need to change or upgrade. Sometimes they are part of the distribution panel, sometimes they are stand alone.

No, you will not change any wires in the wall. That would require tearing the walls out. All you will be able to do upgrading from 30 amp to 50 amp is to add more circuits. In this case primarily a second AC. You may also be able, if you can't right now, run all of your circuits at once. Many 30 RV's if you try to run the microwave, the AC and somebody starts a hair dryer, even though each of these are on a separate circuit, will blow the main.

In reality, If I could not live with a 30 amp RV, I would trade it for a 50 Amp RV. Probably cheaper in the long run.
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 03:30 PM   #10
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
YEP......
Pre wired for 2nd A/C Unit
120VAC wiring inside that blank cover plate
Yup, and my guess would be that behind the distribution panel there is a dead end unattached wire that could be traced up to that junction box.
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 04:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightmare View Post
Odd this is a 30amp camper ?? How can two acs work?
My old RV has a generator with two outputs... a 35 amp one for the coach, and a 25 amp one that is wired to the second air conditioner. I installed a 20 amp plug and outlet in that line, with the outlet to the generator and the plug on the A/C. I can use a 20 amp extension cord to plug the 2nd A/C into a second pedestal outlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightmare View Post
also can this be turned into a 50amp?
That would require some serious effort to rewire the RV. The existing 30 amp panel has one circuit breaker buss, a 50 amp panel would have two.
You'll be replacing the shore power cord, the transfer switch, installing a new breaker box, and all the wiring between them. In my case I'll be replacing the converter, since it's part of the 30 amp breaker panel.

Mike
__________________
Semi-retired technogeek...electronics / computer / 2-way / ham radio... WA6ILQ (45+years)
1985 Fleetwood 32' Southwind (Chev P30/454/TH400), dubbed "Lazarus" by friends... I resurrected it from the dead...
AnotherMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 05:02 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,910
IF you install that second A/C Unit in bedroom....

Run Living room one or bedroom one

**After one is up and running you can try to run other one
Fridge on propane, water heater on propane....no Microwave unless you shut one down....no hair dryers etc

Just a little AC Power Management and you can use both A/C Units on 30A
Or use one at a time

50A Rewire....
New Power cord/new inlet connection, new #6 wire (4) from inlet to Main AC Panel (or transfer box if you have generator)
New AC Power Panel...double 50A Main CBs...reconnect all of the Individual CBs. ETC

Materials not too expensive...hiring a RV Knowledgeable Electrician could be $$$$
Is it worth it???
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:09 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: NC
Posts: 642
Have you pulled the cover off yet to see what's in there?
AC wiring is normally accessible when the vent is removed for the 2nd AC install. I doubt a manufacturer would run the wire needed on a 30 amp coach.
On the other hand who knows what the clowns do. An employee may have punched a hole in the panel and that was the cheapest way to correct it.
__________________
2005 Cummins 2WD 3500 LB CC dually 2014 Blue Ridge 3025RL
Toby Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 07:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toby Dog View Post
Have you pulled the cover off yet to see what's in there?
AC wiring is normally accessible when the vent is removed for the 2nd AC install. I doubt a manufacturer would run the wire needed on a 30 amp coach.
On the other hand who knows what the clowns do. An employee may have punched a hole in the panel and that was the cheapest way to correct it.
You could be right on the errant hole created, it seems to be a distance from the vent.

On our 30A Thor, we have the blank cover beside the vent with a sticker on it indicating it has been wired for an AC AND they installed a thermostat (2nd) in the bedroom... at the moment it does nothing.
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cover, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd question on sink cover AktivCanuck RV Systems & Appliances 1 05-07-2019 07:13 PM
Odd switch lady puffin Newmar Owner's Forum 2 06-10-2015 11:45 AM
Odd Switch 2far Monaco Owner's Forum 2 07-09-2013 07:36 PM
Odd transfer switch behavior crah Class A Motorhome Discussions 0 01-06-2013 05:41 PM
To cover or not to cover? FrankO Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 24 06-04-2007 05:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.