Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-06-2021, 09:54 AM   #1

Tire TEMPERATURE ??

Question is: What TEMPERATURE Range should I be looking for at for a properly inflated tire at highway speeds of 60-65 mph? I'll be installing a TPMS on the tires before we leave.

Background is this: So as a newbie I posted a thread here last summer asking about proper tire PRESSURE: https://www.irv2.com/forums/f50/corr...tt-506857.html

I found and referred to the WRONG Goodyear chart for my tires at that time because the chart was for typical TT tires of the "ST" moniker ST225/75R16 (and I was in a rush to get home from Montana to NJ to start my teaching job while figuring out everything about towing a TT on the way)

I just found the correct table today for MY tires which are LT225/75R16 showing that for my light TT (Jayco 2112QBW) with a max loaded weight of around 6,000 lbs (1500 lbs per tire) I can actually run with those tires at 35 PSI! We're probably under that weight, but one of the first stops I'll make this year when we head west for the summer is to weigh it fully loaded at a Pilot weighing station. But let's assume 6,000 lbs to leave a little margin for safety (and I don't have to run at the lowest possible inflation either)

SO, since 35 psi is SOO much lower than everyone on these forums has said they run with BUT everyone has advised going with the manufacturer's recommendations....