Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Gear and Product Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-10-2023, 08:19 PM   #1

Added battery voltage meters at dash - saved me twice

2008 Tiffin Phaeton DP MH, 360HP Cummings Freightliner chassis
I added on two external housings and installed voltage meters on my dash
The upper external housing has 2 DC outlets and 2 USB outlets
Full disclosure - I'm an electrical engineer and can't imagine life without knowing what my battery bank voltages are
I watched the voltages for a year and they were very consistent
Months ago I noticed that my engine battery voltage would decline when I was parked.
Investigating I found the battery tender failed and associated wiring melted together
I installed a new battery tinder and rewired, now works fine. This likely saved me from preparing to leave and finding a dead battery
Next while parked I noticed my chassis batteries voltages were not what they consistently were. I found my inverter/charger wasn't charging. I was able to reboot it and get it working but am now preparing to replace it.
Without the dash meters I would have been unaware of these two situations.
I assume the inverter should have alarmed me that the chassis batteries weren't being charged but I assume it didn't work because it was off line.
As a recovering engineer I was compelled to install the meters but am providing this as food for thought.