Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2022, 07:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 102
12 volt tv or 110 volt tv?

We mostly boondock so keeping power consumption down is important. At first I thought switching to a 12 volt tv would be a no brainer. But then. Based on every spec I have read a 110 volt tv uses about half the power that a 12 volt tv uses. Is this true, or is it some kind of creativity in the specs?

Example; the 32" 12volt Television, by Jenson, specs says it uses 90 watts. For a 120volt 32 inch, by VIZO, its 32 watts, all features seem the same or very similar. I have found several 120volt 32” tvs that claim under 45 watts and no 12 volt tvs that claim under 65 watts.

Sticking with a 120 volt tv makes no intuitive since. The 12 volt tv needs only to covert to the dc voltage it was designed for. The other option has to covert 12 volts dc to 120 volts ac so that the TV can then covert to its design voltage DC. How could the latter be more efficient?

Perhaps Isaac-1, in a similar thread last year, is correct and the newer design for the 120 volt tvs are more efficient than the older design used for 12 volt tvs. But 50% more? More than enough to overcome the losses through the inverter?

I am suspecting that the DC tv specs provide some kind of peak loading for wattage and the AC tv specs provides some kind of average loading for wattage.

So which would allow me to boondock longer and run the generator less, 12 volt tv or 120 volt tv?
pokgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-19-2022, 07:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 783
I just bought a new LG tv that had a 120v to 19v dc power brick, so I bought a 12v to 19v converter to power it in my trailer.

https://www.amazon.com/Converter-5A-...18&sr=8-2&th=1
__________________
Camping and boondocking since 1960
Starlink
Camper25 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 08:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
GypsyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 2,157
I had to do a circuit board swap in our 55" 4K house TV. I found it interesting that the actual internal voltage it uses are 12 volts and 5 volts DC. Not my area but my first thought was that one could pretty easily eliminate the AC conversion and just run the TV on straight DC. I also wondered how many other flat screens are DC internally.
GypsyR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 08:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
I also wondered how many other flat screens are DC internally.
The answer is “all of them”.
__________________
2021 Entegra Aspire 44W
Previous: 2006 Newmar Essex 4508
2013 Tiffin Allegro Open Road
Archer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 08:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 3,146
My Sony had a brick to convert from 120v to 19.5.
I bought a transformer thingie and run it off of my 12v no problems. It steps it up from 12 to 19.5.
I never did a side by side comparison to see how many watts the different type consumed.
__________________
I don't make it much on here anymore so will not see your reply to my comment. Drop me a direct message and when I come back on I will see it.
Cheers!
computerguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 09:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokgunner View Post

Example; the 32" 12volt Television, by Jenson, specs says it uses 90 watts.

90 watts at 12 volts.



Quote:
Originally Posted by pokgunner View Post
For a 120volt 32 inch, by VIZO, its 32 watts,

32 watts at 120 volts.
__________________
2016 Tiffin 32SA
Newps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 10:03 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,288
1st watts are watts regardless of voltage. Obviously if the voltage is different the amperage will also be accordingly. That said AFIK there are no 32" or larger tv's that use an external power brick. Maybe I'm wrong on that but I haven't ever found one. Really if you want something in that size range your only option is an inverter. Recommend getting a small PSW inverter (like 100W) as it will be much more efficient than a large one.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 03:48 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 102
Thanks PbdBlue, watts is watts, what I cannot figure out is why are the specs for a DC TV about TWICE the wattage as a similar AC TV? Particularly since an AC TV has to convert back to DC.

The difference in wattage is so great it makes the losses of an inverter to power an AC TV inconsequential.

It makes no since unless the various specifications are not apples to apples, or the DC TV uses old circuitry that has much more losses than the new AC TVs. (a way for manufactures to clear out left over circuit boards?)
pokgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 05:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 3,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by PbdBlue View Post
...That said AFIK there are no 32" or larger tv's that use an external power brick. Maybe I'm wrong on that but I haven't ever found one...
Yep, you just haven't found them. They are out there. My 2 Sonys use bricks. Model numbers KDL40W600B and KDL32R420B. One 40" and one 32".
As I said earlier in the thread I swapped the brick for a step up transformer to run them on 12v and not need an inverter for them.
__________________
I don't make it much on here anymore so will not see your reply to my comment. Drop me a direct message and when I come back on I will see it.
Cheers!
computerguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 05:48 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 594
I have done a little experimenting with direct DC powered TVs, TVs that use a brick to convert AC to 18-20V DC and direct AC powered TVs. Well there are no true AC powered TVs as sooner or later it all gets converted to DC to power the internal TV electronics.

I found that using a small, 150W inverter to power either the brick type or direct AC powered TVs didn't matter much in terms of total wattage, maybe a 15% difference which is probably inverter losses. I also tried using a DC to DC converter to take the coach's 12V DC and boost it to the 18-20V DC that the TV needed internally. That also had about the same 15% losses as the inverter.

So, buy the best TV that works for you and then set up a small inverter or DC to DC converter to power it. You won't find too many 12V DC powered TVs as they are all 18-20V today.

David
DavidEM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 06:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 25,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by PbdBlue View Post
1st watts are watts regardless of voltage. Obviously if the voltage is different the amperage will also be accordingly. That said AFIK there are no 32" or larger tv's that use an external power brick. Maybe I'm wrong on that but I haven't ever found one. Really if you want something in that size range your only option is an inverter. Recommend getting a small PSW inverter (like 100W) as it will be much more efficient than a large one.
I suspect the difference in their thinking is the conversion factor from 12VDC to 120VAC amperage and vica-versa.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG 11B5MX,Infantry retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA." My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. John F. Kennedy
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 07:51 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerguy View Post
Yep, you just haven't found them. They are out there. My 2 Sonys use bricks. Model numbers KDL40W600B and KDL32R420B. One 40" and one 32".
As I said earlier in the thread I swapped the brick for a step up transformer to run them on 12v and not need an inverter for them.
Great to know but I think both of those have been discontinued. I have a smaller Samsung in the MH bedroom that I did the same thing with. I just hadn't found a big tv.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 07:53 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
I suspect the difference in their thinking is the conversion factor from 12VDC to 120VAC amperage and vica-versa.
'
Probably more to do with the backlighting which is the biggest drain in most led tv's. I suspect the Jensen uses older more energy hungry tech.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 08:15 AM   #14
TR4
Senior Member
 
TR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerguy View Post
Yep, you just haven't found them. They are out there. My 2 Sonys use bricks. Model numbers KDL40W600B and KDL32R420B. One 40" and one 32".
As I said earlier in the thread I swapped the brick for a step up transformer to run them on 12v and not need an inverter for them.
My Sony XBR 49” uses a power brick as well.

Bill
__________________
2003 Country Coach Intrigue 36'
Cummins ISL 400
TR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different voltage sources, one switch to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt wrq1103 RV Systems & Appliances 23 12-01-2016 05:42 PM
Bounder: 110 volt to 12 volt converter problems sandbums99 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 9 05-03-2016 06:20 PM
110 volt wiring on 2008 challenger Bruce W Damon 12 06-19-2008 03:33 PM
Lightning Rod 110-volt water heater kit bjbkkb Gear and Product Discussions 16 01-28-2008 03:28 PM
110 volt water heater switch Dave from MN Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 09-18-2006 05:47 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.