Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2023, 04:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 153
2 provider hotspots

After much research I now have 3 isp. Starlink is my go to when stationary and 2 different cell phone provider hot spots for when on the move. I want to have all three coming into my dual WAN router so everything can be programmed to connect to my main router and it will auto failover when 1 of the signals in not coming in.

I have it working perfectly for 2 (SL and we will call it Hotspot/carrier 1 (HS1)

SL is connected via Ethernet on WAN1
HS1 is wireless so I have it running thru a WiFi to Ethernet connection using a device called TPlink Travel router. You set it up to connect to your WiFi (hs1) then it has a Ethernet port that I connect to the main router as WAN2

Itís hotspot 2 (HS2) that I am having trouble with. I thought I could give it the same Ssid and password as HS1 and have the TPlink see it and use it just like the same signal in the event carrier 1 signal went out I could easily turn on carrier 2 and seamlessly connect and just keep going.

TPlink is making me configure it again for the HS2 even though it has the same SSID and password. Iím not tech enough to know what settings to just start changing. Any ideas?
__________________
Country Coach 2004 Inspire DaVinci
FMCA
winningteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-01-2023, 07:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 450
That's because TPlink is trash and it knows the wifi AP has a different Mac address so doesn't store it.


Get a pepwave router. Not only do they have 2 Sim slots but you can run off 12v. Also you can pay for their service to bond them all 3 together and/or with priorities. You can even have wifi wan as a 4th internet so at a cg or home it uses that. I have Starlink, 1 Sim in the pepwave and a Hotspot connected to my wan2 ethernet so we can take the Hotspot out and use when away from the bus
__________________
"Shorty" 2008 Prevost XL2 40ft Custom, Detroit S60, 20K genset,5k Victron Quattro,800AH lithium,1800w solar with more upgrades to come
Captain8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2023, 09:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 153
Thank you. I have the expensive piece already (My router) it's only dual WAN but I just purchased it so don't want to replace this time. I looking for alternatives for turning wifi into eithernet.
__________________
Country Coach 2004 Inspire DaVinci
FMCA
winningteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Upgrading" to T-mobile; question about hotspots angelbones Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 01-24-2017 07:45 AM
Microwave Hotspots While on Generator Snowman9000 RV Systems & Appliances 2 02-23-2016 02:27 PM
Hotspots rideandslide Travel Trailer Discussion 8 09-06-2015 08:12 PM
Personal Hotspots for Internet Use J Fish Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 26 07-17-2015 02:44 PM
Are Cradlepoint Personal Hotspots iPhone compatable? SeeTheUSA Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 09-06-2008 03:06 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.