RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2013, 02:16 PM   #1
Member
 
AirManFL's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Longwood
Posts: 44
2006 Newmar Kountry Star - Hopper and 2 joey's

I just paid my RV dealer to install a Winegard Trav'ler while it was in getting work on the leveling jacks. I should have checked before I left, but they only brought one cable from the dish to the cabinet. I'm taking it back so they can correct it. My plan is to install a hopper with 2 joey's.

Has anyone experienced any problems using the existing coax from the a/v cabinet in the front to the basement and rear bedroom tv's?
I'm sure it isn't RG-6 coax.

My plan is to only use cable or over the air antenna on the front tv if I can't get satellite signal so I don't need to worry about that.

Thanks,
Rob
AirManFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-29-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirManFL View Post
Has anyone experienced any problems using the existing coax from the a/v cabinet in the front to the basement and rear bedroom tv's?
I'm sure it isn't RG-6 coax.
A lot of folks (myself included) thought ALL the coax used in a Hopper system had to be 3000 MHz RG6. Not hardly:

-- the coax between the sat dish (like the Travler or a portable) has to be rated at 2150 MHz.

-- the coax that connects the Solo Node to the Hopper has to be RG6 rated at 3000 MHz.

-- the coax that connects the Joeys to the Solo Node only need a top rating of 875 KHz. So your coach wiring should work fine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AirManFL View Post
My plan is to only use cable or over the air antenna on the front tv if I can't get satellite signal so I don't need to worry about that.
You might want to pick up an OTA module for the Hopper so you can display local stations on the Hopper's program guide.

Finally, if you have a WiFi hotpot in your RV, pick up the WiFi dongle for the Hopper. It will let you watch VOD (Video On Demand).
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
djhinds's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Golden, Colorado
Posts: 794
I use a 722 DVR in my coach and I installed the OTA module and it works fine. We are planning to go to the Hopper and Joey in the coach. Is the OTA module the same in the Hopper? Can I just install mine in the new Hopper?? I have the Traveler 1000 and it works great.

Dave
__________________
2004 Monaco Signature with a Detroit 60, Vorad Radar Samsung Fridge,Induction cook top, 2020 GMC Denali
djhinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by djhinds View Post
I use a 722 DVR in my coach and I installed the OTA module and it works fine. We are planning to go to the Hopper and Joey in the coach. Is the OTA module the same in the Hopper? Can I just install mine in the new Hopper?? I have the Traveler 1000 and it works great.
Isn't a VIP722 OTA module an internal card? The Hopper uses an external OTA dongle.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 06:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
djhinds's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Golden, Colorado
Posts: 794
Yes it is internal to the 722. I guess I will have to buy the OTA dongle for the Hopper.
Thank you for the answer

Dave
__________________
2004 Monaco Signature with a Detroit 60, Vorad Radar Samsung Fridge,Induction cook top, 2020 GMC Denali
djhinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:47 AM   #6
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,116
The VIP-722k uses the OTA Module.

Rob,
As for the wiring, I have the VIP-722 and the typical entertainment switching center with power supply for batwing. I had to Put a couple splitters in so I could maintain the functionality of the switch box and also enjoy the satellite without connecting/disconnecting cables. It's not a big job. I used the motorhome installed RG6 in the 2008 Winni.

Tech Writer,
Can the Hopper and a joey be taken from the stick-house and used in the MH without much trouble, or are there special considerations involved?

Thanks.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
Lexi - Goldendoodle
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:28 PM   #7
In the ether...
 
dunkonu23's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan, NE of Hell
Posts: 449
I use my Hopper in both the stick house and the motor home (don't forget the remote!). Just put the Hopper in a safe, bump-free, slide-free, place while traveling--not powered on, to keep the hard drive parked--and you'll be fine. I put mine on the floor under one of the dinette benches. Since the Joey has no moving parts, just put it in a drawer or some place out of direct sunlight while traveling.

Techwriter is a sharp guy with this stuff. His setup pictures are awesome!

Scott
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 35U, 8.1 W-22, TruCenter
Fly R/C Helicopters
dunkonu23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:20 PM   #8
Member
 
AirManFL's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Longwood
Posts: 44
Thank you to all for the information. I'm installing almost the same setup techwriter is using minus the cable tv and ota.

I'll be using the trav'ler and a portable dish as back up signal.

I'm taking the coach back to my dealer tomorrow so they can correct their mistake and then I'll be good to go.

Thanks again,

Rob
__________________
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
AirManFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne M View Post
The VIP-722k uses the OTA Module.
Can the Hopper and a joey be taken from the stick-house and used in the MH without much trouble, or are there special considerations involved?
You'll need a Solo Mode to connect the sat dish to the Hopper and Joey.

The gotcha is making sure you connect 2 coax cables from a Travler or from a sat dish (1000, 1000.2, 1000.4, or Pro 500).

BTW, glad you dropped by my web site.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 08:03 AM   #10
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,116
Your site was very interesting. Maybe someday I'll be parked next to you and learn by watching you (on my coach of course!) Hee hee!

Coach did not come with a dome or dish so I purchased the Carryout. I may, just may, get the Traveler installed one day.

Thanks for the info on the Solo Mode.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
Lexi - Goldendoodle
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 06:34 PM   #11
Member
 
AirManFL's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Longwood
Posts: 44
I got started today on my install:


Rob
AirManFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirManFL View Post
I got started today on my install:


Rob
A clean-looking install -- take more pics & share.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newmar



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.