Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2021, 04:33 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,238
2nd Remote generator start switch

I know it sounds lazy, but, it sure would be nice to be able to start the generator and coffee pot from the bedroom.

I have a new Onan switch but I don't know how to wire it. It has 5 terminals. I don't know if I would need a relay to wire it all the way to the back of the MH
It's a 4000 Onan gen.

Has any body ever added an extra start switch?

Onan used to have a wireless remote. I put it on my old MH and it worked great. I wish I had taken it off, but I didnt. They don't sell it anymore and I have no idea why not

Thanks, Max
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Denver, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2021, 04:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2,713
Blog Entries: 3
Just wire it in parallel to the original switch. Your manual on the generator should have the wiring diag. Pigtail off the original wires at the generator going to the factory remote switch.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired USAF
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 06:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,238
Thx Harry, Have you done this?

I think the switch at the generator itself would be closer. Do you think I could just run 20 or 25 Ft. of wire to the new switch? Or would I need a relay?
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Denver, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 10:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
garage man's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Rogue Valley, Southern Oregon
Posts: 169
It is convenient

You will like it when you figure it out. My 93 Monaco has one switch at the control panel above the stove top, one in the console next to the driver and one in a control panel next to the bed.
__________________
Hitting the road from Oregon
1993 Monaco Crown Royal Signature 40'
The "Gentle Giant"
garage man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2021, 11:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2,713
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by max49 View Post
Thx Harry, Have you done this?

I think the switch at the generator itself would be closer. Do you think I could just run 20 or 25 Ft. of wire to the new switch? Or would I need a relay?
I have not. But the wiring is simple, and yes, go to the generator, and find the connector identified in the schematic in your manual.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired USAF
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 07:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Corc's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryStone View Post
I have not. But the wiring is simple, and yes, go to the generator, and find the connector identified in the schematic in your manual.


Onan sells a wireless EC 30 AGS+ that gives Auto Gen Start capability PLUS gives you ability to start the generator from your phone or even SIRI. A nice alternative to a hard wired switch. Best part is it installs in about 20 min with no wires to run through coach.
__________________
Huntsville, Alabama
2018 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2009 Jeep Liberty
Corc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 08:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,356
I actually have 4 ways to start the generator one of which is right next to the bed. I used this several times a couple weeks ago when it was really cold. I'd monitor the temps and start the generator and furnace to bring the coach up to temp. In the bedroom I can just reach up from below the covers and start the generator. Life is Good!!!!
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 11:14 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,275
I have added two. One in the electrical compartment where I have my onboard air compressor mounted and one in the galley. There are 4 wires. Gnd, Start, Stop and Run Light. Just parallel the additional switches. Start and Stop are initiated by grounding one or the other. The Run Light is a 12 volt output to illuminate the indicator when it is running. A switch like this one will work. https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08KG2XP...ing=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, remote, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HF Predator 3500 Inverter generator project to add remote start, remote choke, stop charles_2000 Gear and Product Discussions 20 10-30-2020 12:49 PM
Remote switch won't start Generator Go Dawgs Vintage RV's 0 05-24-2011 10:25 PM
remote start generator switch rrookie Damon 8 08-25-2008 10:32 AM
Adding a 2nd remote Gen. switch max49 Damon 12 04-23-2007 04:42 PM
Add a 2nd remote starter for Generator?? max49 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 03-12-2007 12:43 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.