Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2022, 11:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
Bat Wing Issues

Out of the blue my BW is not picking up some local stations(ie CBS) that are < 30miles away. Its picking up others that my app show around the same distance. I went and bought a flat antenna and hooked it up instead and now all the stations are picked up.

To troubleshoot I took the flat antenna up top and hooked it up to my coax from the BW. All the channels worked thru the cable from up on roof. When I bypassed the flat antenna booster no channels showed. Weird thing is I also did not power the flat antennas booster when I got channels to appear thru the BW antenna cable.

Any thoughts on why my BW is not working as expected?
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-06-2022, 11:55 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 20
Could this be your problem?https://www.fcc.gov/rescan

Fred
fredbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 12:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
Nope, I scan and rescan many times.....
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 01:00 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 193
"some" local stations, or one (CBS)?
Sometimes there are band openings which happen that could affect your reception. Those openings happen more frequently in the VHF band than the UHF, and more often during the warmer months, but can happen during the winter as well. If the station to which you refer is WNCN 17 out of Raleigh, they are a VHF station, so perhaps that was the issue. The only other VHF station out of Raleigh is WTVD 11. All the rest are in the UHF band.
Also, sometimes a TV or radio station may be having transmitter or antenna issues. Try again later and see what happens.
Ultimately, it would seem that if you hooked a different antenna up to the same cable, your problem isn't the cable. The only real thing with a Wineguard Sensar that can go wrong is if it's an amplified model and the amp dies or the power inserter dies... or of course, if the antenna gets physically damaged.
Injuneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 06:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injuneer View Post
"some" local stations, or one (CBS)?
Sometimes there are band openings which happen that could affect your reception. Those openings happen more frequently in the VHF band than the UHF, and more often during the warmer months, but can happen during the winter as well. If the station to which you refer is WNCN 17 out of Raleigh, they are a VHF station, so perhaps that was the issue. The only other VHF station out of Raleigh is WTVD 11. All the rest are in the UHF band.
Also, sometimes a TV or radio station may be having transmitter or antenna issues. Try again later and see what happens.
Ultimately, it would seem that if you hooked a different antenna up to the same cable, your problem isn't the cable. The only real thing with a Wineguard Sensar that can go wrong is if it's an amplified model and the amp dies or the power inserter dies... or of course, if the antenna gets physically damaged.
How can I troubleshoot the amp or the power inserter dyeing? Not sure what the power inserter is?

I think it must be one or the other or both since I connected a diff antenna and it works. Although when using a diff antenna without going thru its amp it did not work. Even though the diff amp box was not plugged into power. Weird!!!

fyi - this is in the Fort Myers area......
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 09:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
traveldawg's Avatar




 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Grand Design Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfg9585 View Post
Out of the blue my BW is not picking up some local stations(ie CBS) that are < 30miles away. Its picking up others that my app show around the same distance. I went and bought a flat antenna and hooked it up instead and now all the stations are picked up.

To troubleshoot I took the flat antenna up top and hooked it up to my coax from the BW. All the channels worked thru the cable from up on roof. When I bypassed the flat antenna booster no channels showed. Weird thing is I also did not power the flat antennas booster when I got channels to appear thru the BW antenna cable.

Any thoughts on why my BW is not working as expected?
I think you should check again. But you should know what you are calling a "booster" isn't a booster - per se. The box inside the RV that switches between cable and antenna is mostly a switch. When switched to antenna it provides 12 volts DC to the OTA antenna. It's up to the antenna to then use that 12v to power an internal booster.

You should measure the center conductor of the coax going to the rooftop. When on antenna there should be 12vDC on the center conductor (center conductor to braid). On cable there should be no voltage.

I'd guess the first time you found that the flat antenna to the roof there was 12v going to that antenna (so its booster worked and you got stations). But when you bypassed the switch there was no more 12v, so no more 'boost' and the flat antenna came up without station reception.
__________________
2018 F350 CC, SB
2019 Grand Design Solitude 310GKR
traveldawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 09:52 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
I tested the center wire on the coax and it gives me a 4+ volt reading. Would this potentially be the issue, and if so how can I troubleshoot?
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 05:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 1,259
Reconnect to the power supply inside that many call a booster then check voltage.
mrboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 05:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Unplanned Tourist's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 5,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrboyer View Post
Reconnect to the power supply inside that many call a booster then check voltage.
Yep, check ground and power connections. There should be 12 volts between the inner and outer parts of the antenna coax cable with the switch on.
__________________
Happy Glamping, Norman & Elna. 2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with bicycles or KLR 650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned Tourist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 10:37 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
I checked again using the middle wire to the outside of the coax and it reads 4.5V. I checked the power coming into my switch box and its 13+V.

I checked the flat antenna that's working better and it reads ~4V.

Sounds like something is wrong beside the Vs coming thru the antenna, NO?

Thanks!
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 04:12 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 5,082
Sounds like the power injector is off. I remember reading that the booster is located behind or next to the co-pilot seat on that era Newmar. A little black button on a wall plate on the wall. Maybe somehow it got pushed?
https://www.amazon.com/Winegard-RV-7...029083185&th=1

I replaced mine with this device, you can see the strength of the signal as you orient the antenna.
https://winegard.com/industry/recrea...ensarpro-white
__________________
Rick and Larrie Dee
1997 40' Newmar London Aire DP CTA 8.3 (Mechanical) 325 Spartan MM
Bringing her back to her glory.
'08 Jeep GC Overland.
RKins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 04:39 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
rfg9585's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 731
I have something similar but it doesn't have the little buttons. Click image for larger version

Name:	20220115_063626.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	353829
__________________
Randy Goodman - 2006 Newmar Mtn Aire 4032 DP, Spartan, Blue OX Avail, 2021 JLU Rubicon 35/12.5s. 2020 Jeep JLU Sahara stock.1st RV 3/19. Looking for a much nicer\NEW ride!!
rfg9585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 02:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 5,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfg9585 View Post
I have something similar but it doesn't have the little buttons. Attachment 353829
You found it, maybe it is not working. As you saw in the links they are cheap. I would vote for the Sensar so you can see the strength as you turn the antenna. BTW, in our coach there is an on/off switch in the cabinet above the door (we have a mid door model) - you might have a switch - looks like a normal RV 12v on/off switch (white).
Mine is 2nd from right top in this pic
__________________
Rick and Larrie Dee
1997 40' Newmar London Aire DP CTA 8.3 (Mechanical) 325 Spartan MM
Bringing her back to her glory.
'08 Jeep GC Overland.
RKins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 03:38 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 21,463
Blog Entries: 21
After spending 3 months on the Texas Gulf Coast, our bat-wing was getting poor reception. I took the antenna off and opened up the upper electronics. I found corrosion on the board and connections. I just replaced it with a new antenna and all was right again.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot, retired mechanical engineer
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Bat wing antenna 1fanman Fleetwood Owner's Forum 17 11-11-2012 05:34 PM
bat wing antenna preamp savitbound Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 08-07-2011 07:48 PM
Jack TV Antenna vs. Winegard Bat Wing gpearston Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 03-22-2011 10:30 PM
Bat Wing & Wingman Antenna FLYTYER Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 10-19-2009 05:38 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.