Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2018, 03:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
rewillia's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lake Charles (domicile)
Posts: 1,064
Bose SoundBar Upgrade

Anyone here upgraded or replaced their Soundbar located in the exterior/outdoor audio/video compartment?
Seeking advice on replacement of the Bose 5 Solo SoundBar installed in the outdoor entertainment system on my Newmar coach;

I am contemplating changing/upgrading from the Bose Solo 5 Soundbar that was installed by Newmar to the Bose SoundTouch 300 series which is a bigger sound bar and offers the capability of adding both separate paired wireless speakers as well as a separate wireless subwoofer (which I plan to install in the cargo basement).

In exploring this, it appears that the Solo 5 only has single RCA pin type 110v AC electrical connection input while the larger SoundTouch 300 has a two-pole 110v AC plug (like commonly seen on most TVs today) that connects power to it.

That being the case, I would need to fish the new power connector wire through the existing bundled wiring/conduit feeding in from what I suspect is the back of the lower kitchen cabinetry and by the looks of it, not an easy to access area.

So, my question is; has anyone else done this (fished a new power cord through the existing hole/conduit (that contains the HDMI, Audio and power cables) and if so, how difficult was it?
__________________
Finding The Roads That Await Us
Rick & Lydia Williams
2018 Newmar Essex 4553
NKK Member 21619 / FMCA Member 465836
rewillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-20-2018, 05:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewillia View Post
Anyone here upgraded or replaced their Soundbar located in the exterior/outdoor audio/video compartment?
Seeking advice on replacement of the Bose 5 Solo SoundBar installed in the outdoor entertainment system on my Newmar coach;

I am contemplating changing/upgrading from the Bose Solo 5 Soundbar that was installed by Newmar to the Bose SoundTouch 300 series which is a bigger sound bar and offers the capability of adding both separate paired wireless speakers as well as a separate wireless subwoofer (which I plan to install in the cargo basement).

In exploring this, it appears that the Solo 5 only has single RCA pin type 110v AC electrical connection input while the larger SoundTouch 300 has a two-pole 110v AC plug (like commonly seen on most TVs today) that connects power to it.

That being the case, I would need to fish the new power connector wire through the existing bundled wiring/conduit feeding in from what I suspect is the back of the lower kitchen cabinetry and by the looks of it, not an easy to access area.

So, my question is; has anyone else done this (fished a new power cord through the existing hole/conduit (that contains the HDMI, Audio and power cables) and if so, how difficult was it?
I think the Bose 5 has a power brick. I.E., the 120vac power cord goes to a power supply which has a lower voltage output with a cord that goes to the soundbar. If you find the power brick you can splice a new connector onto the input (120vac) and avoid the hassle of running a new cord. Check the Bose site for the manual with the illustrations of the cords and supply.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 05:46 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rewillia's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lake Charles (domicile)
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
I think the Bose 5 has a power brick. I.E., the 120vac power cord goes to a power supply which has a lower voltage output with a cord that goes to the soundbar. If you find the power brick you can splice a new connector onto the input (120vac) and avoid the hassle of running a new cord. Check the Bose site for the manual with the illustrations of the cords and supply.
I think your correct and I was thinking the same. If I can (splice in the other type 110V AC lead/plug) that will be the way to go as I am far to big to be trying to squeeze under and into the back of the kitchen cabinetry to get to the brick. I just need to do some further "fact" checking before cutting either lead and also, need to disconnect the 110v power source before any of that.

Thanks.
__________________
Finding The Roads That Await Us
Rick & Lydia Williams
2018 Newmar Essex 4553
NKK Member 21619 / FMCA Member 465836
rewillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 05:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewillia View Post
I think your correct and I was thinking the same. If I can (splice in the other type 110V AC lead/plug) that will be the way to go as I am far to big to be trying to squeeze under and into the back of the kitchen cabinetry to get to the brick. I just need to do some further "fact" checking before cutting either lead and also, need to disconnect the 110v power source before any of that.

Thanks.
Mostly it will depend on brick location ... could be behind the TV or inside RV. If the TV has a 120vac power cord you could probably use that as a source (splice). In my case (an older Essex) I have a 120vac duplex outlet behind the TV that everything plugs into.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 02:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
rewillia's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lake Charles (domicile)
Posts: 1,064
Just learned the larger, Bose Soundtouch 300 does not employ a power brick and is direct wired from an 110v AC outlet to the back of it (just like the TV). That's ok now though as I have successfully fished a wire through the video/audio bundle loom and accessed the connections from beneath/behind the kitchen sink lower cabinetry.

Sound be a breeze to swap out the units (from Bose Solo 5 to Soundtouch 300) now. Only need is to build the brackets and platform for the SoundTouch Subwoofer to set upon in the top of the basement but that shouldn't be a big project.
__________________
Finding The Roads That Await Us
Rick & Lydia Williams
2018 Newmar Essex 4553
NKK Member 21619 / FMCA Member 465836
rewillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 04:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
rewillia's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lake Charles (domicile)
Posts: 1,064
Received my new Bose SoundTouch 300 Soundbar and their Acoustic-master 300 Subwoofer today and plan to install this weekend. Have already started fishing for wire routing from the exterior entertainment center to the back of the lower Kitchen Cabinets. The ST300 does not use a power brick as the OEM installed smaller Bose 5.

Will post comments and photos of the installation once completed to include plans to build a platform and bracketing to mount the sub in the top of one of the cargo bays.
__________________
Finding The Roads That Await Us
Rick & Lydia Williams
2018 Newmar Essex 4553
NKK Member 21619 / FMCA Member 465836
rewillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 04:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewillia View Post
Received my new Bose SoundTouch 300 Soundbar and their Acoustic-master 300 Subwoofer today and plan to install this weekend. Have already started fishing for wire routing from the exterior entertainment center to the back of the lower Kitchen Cabinets. The ST300 does not use a power brick as the OEM installed smaller Bose 5.

Will post comments and photos of the installation once completed to include plans to build a platform and bracketing to mount the sub in the top of one of the cargo bays.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 07:10 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
lass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tarpon Springs, Fl.
Posts: 1,486
Rick good choice on the SoundTouch 300. I have one at home and really like everything about including the fact that you can connect via wi fi and Bluetooth.

I should have seen the thread sooner and could have told you about the power cord. And by the way the app is terrible.
__________________
2013 Newmar Ventana 3434
2018 Wrangler JLU Rubicon
lass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 02:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rewillia's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lake Charles (domicile)
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by lass View Post
Rick good choice on the SoundTouch 300. I have one at home and really like everything about including the fact that you can connect via wi fi and Bluetooth.

I should have seen the thread sooner and could have told you about the power cord. And by the way the app is terrible.
Lass, Thanks all the same. Completed the installation this morning and whoa, wow, what a difference. The new SoundTouch 300 with the acoustic master subwoofer really sounds superb even when installed outside in the exterior entertainment compartment.

Will post photos of the install later.
__________________
Finding The Roads That Await Us
Rick & Lydia Williams
2018 Newmar Essex 4553
NKK Member 21619 / FMCA Member 465836
rewillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bose system/soundbar: Anybody replaced it? ficodek Newmar Owner's Forum 30 05-18-2018 09:05 PM
Bose Soundbar menu display??? Jtrving Newmar Owner's Forum 9 02-18-2018 11:19 AM
Soundbar??? Grimesy Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 04-23-2013 03:10 AM
Adding a Soundbar Razzman Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 09-24-2012 07:19 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.