Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2021, 04:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Cable TV question

This issue has come up recently on a trip to FL and need advice from those smarter than I am with troubleshooting:
1) We have 3 factory installed Vizio TV's (2018 model), a cable coax input in the house power bay, a wall switch to change from cable to antenna and auxiliary tv coax connector in a bay, along with a Winegard roof mount satellite for DirecTV.
2) On this trip through FL, we have been unable to find digital cable channels in two RV parks yet have no problem finding analog. I must assume both signals ride in on the same coax, so there is no reason to believe the digital signals are heading elsewhere as the analog cable TV channels come in fine.
3) Digital antenna signals come in fine. Satellite is not HD since it is an in-motion. Seems the most parks we visit are analog only or digital only and occasionally we find one that is both.
4) The Vizio TV's have no apparent digital/analog selector in the menu setup process and have had no problems in the past finding digital channels.
5) In one of the parks a few days ago, one of the workers attached his digital cable TV tester to the end of my coax input cable and was receiving a good signal.
Any troubleshooting ideas on what is happening to the digital cable signal would be much appreciated. My wife likes to watch a couple of network shows and I like watching local news/weather wherever we land and we usually find ourselves out of reliable antenna range.
Thanks
jimnlo1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-11-2021, 04:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,662
Many if not all cable systems now require a box to receive digital channels. Over the last several years anytime I go to a CG with cable all I get are analog, non HD stuff and for the most part lousy reception. Some CG’s provide a box to use while you’re there.
__________________
Tom Wilds

2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2DR 4WD Sahara, Automatic, Hard Top
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 05:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,466
I discovered that in Sunshine Key, FL., that the new cable system requires a " QAM " compatable TV or a QAM converter box.

The box is less the $20.


https://www.amazon.com/3300STB-Conve...38212608&psc=1

https://drexel.edu/it/help/a-z/resne...check-your-tv/
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 05:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 378
I know at least in my area, Comcast encrypts all the digital HD channels, so the only way to get them is to rent a box from them... No third party boxes you can buy will work.

If you don't rent the box, then you are limited to analog SD channels.
jrollf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 05:57 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Thanks - right now, we are at Boyds in Key West. No problem here - all analog.
jimnlo1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 11:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,779
The problem with renting the digital cable box is that they are often difficult to connect to your RV entertainment equipment. You need access to the coax cable coming in from the post, and the inputs (hopefully HDMI) on the back of your TV. (And some knowledge of how to select the correct input on your TV.) And a place to put the box. Fortunately I have a DVR with a QAM tuner, as well as an analog tuner. If the digital cable is encrypted, I will do without. I am not going to wire in a cable box unless I have a really long stay and no other choice.

You can't blame the campground. They are stuck with whatever the local cable company provides to them, and they do not know how to access your connections.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 08:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RVFunlovers's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 378
We have been in 30 parks in the past year. Most had cable. None required anything other than connecting the cable to our coach. Then from each TV I do a channel scan.
Most parks have more digital channels than analog.

Samsung TV’s from 2017.

Why would a campground have cable that requires a box? Maybe if it is a place that people stay long term.

We do have to make sure our TV antenna / booster is turned off to use cable.
__________________

Hal and Pam
2017 Entegra Cornerstone - B
2020 Ford Edge ST
RVFunlovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 10:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVFunlovers View Post
Why would a campground have cable that requires a box?
Sometimes the box may be nothing more than a QAM (aka digital) tuner. At a campground I worked, we had digital cable but many of the campers had TVs without QAM tuners . . . so we lent out these boxes.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Cable Box (TiVo) and Cable Internet Installation on Newmar Canyon Star kittyRV Newmar Owner's Forum 2 12-09-2017 10:52 AM
Using AM Antenna cable to pull a new cable DDMO Newmar Owner's Forum 1 08-27-2016 10:46 PM
Cable tv cable Mattera68 Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 07-24-2016 09:17 AM
Cable labels for antenna, satellite, and cable TV billhuntz Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 06-30-2015 01:17 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 05-10-2006 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.