Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2022, 09:33 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Dover, Ontario
Posts: 446
Canadian Shaw Direct

Cannot get a satellite signal this year.
i have older Shaw equiment that worked well last year.
Currently in Rockport Texas.
Anybody have service this year?
__________________
2009 Monaco Monarch 33SFS...Jeep TJ
Wintering in Apache Junction. Summer in Ontario.
harris155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-04-2022, 12:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ret Syntst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 317
I have my dish set up with 88% signal but my receivers are the 600 series and Shaw will not re-activate them. They'll send me new ones for free but to my home in Ontario. With the amount of channels being lost to the new satellite which can't be tuned-in this far south it's not worth the hassle.
__________________
Bill
2002 Dutch Star
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Ret Syntst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 12:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bayfield, Ontario
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by harris155 View Post
Cannot get a satellite signal this year.
i have older Shaw equiment that worked well last year.
Currently in Rockport Texas.
Anybody have service this year?
Not since the “Maintenance” on Nov 29 that Shaw was doing. My guess is the Shaw box needs a refresh but cannot refresh without a signal.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

1300W Solar, 1200AH LiFePO4 FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 12:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bayfield, Ontario
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ret Syntst View Post
I have my dish set up with 88% signal but my receivers are the 600 series and Shaw will not re-activate them. They'll send me new ones for free but to my home in Ontario. With the amount of channels being lost to the new satellite which can't be tuned-in this far south it's not worth the hassle.
Bill,

Is this new satellite part of their maintenance last week? My 600 series box was working prior to the maintenance.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

1300W Solar, 1200AH LiFePO4 FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 05:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Dover, Ontario
Posts: 446
Cannot even lock into a signal, not even a blip. May have finally de-commissioned 107 and 111 satellites, Run of good luck ended.
harris155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 05:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,747
Why doesn't Shaw have a streaming service/??
__________________
Moisheh
2008 Dynasty 42' Diamond IV
1988 Bluebird PT38
2009 Silverado Toad
moisheh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 09:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Courtenay BC
Posts: 143
Am getting most of the channels that I get at home, not getting any global channels and a couple history have gone still using the 107 satellite. I am in Yuma at this moment
Reka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 09:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Courtenay BC
Posts: 143
Correction I am using 109.1 not 107 satellite
Reka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 07:16 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Dave Killey's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 287
Refresh

I have learned that you may get your reception back if you use a computer that has a VPN set to a Canadian city then do an online refresh. I have not tried this as I never lost any channels that I had before this.
I am just north of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.
Dave Killey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 05:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bayfield, Ontario
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reka View Post
Correction I am using 109.1 not 107 satellite
Shaw only uses 107 and 111.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

1300W Solar, 1200AH LiFePO4 FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 05:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bayfield, Ontario
Posts: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Killey View Post
I have learned that you may get your reception back if you use a computer that has a VPN set to a Canadian city then do an online refresh. I have not tried this as I never lost any channels that I had before this.
I am just north of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.
Thanks, works great.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

1300W Solar, 1200AH LiFePO4 FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 11:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 525
hi

last week i was out to the dealership with the motorhome for a service (unrelated to shaw) and in returning and powering the shaw direct dish, it would not lock on to the satellite(s). did not have lots of time, so i did what i did a couple of years ago.... once the dish got the satellite, i quickly unplugged the winegard box before it began continuing searching. got all the channels just fine.

this week, having more time, i put stored the shaw dish and re-powered it. again, the dish was not able to lock on to the satellites. it founds the satellites, did not lock on, and continued to search.

i reached out the winegard and learned that with the Nov 2022 upgrades made by shaw, the winegard system CAN NOT lock on to the satellites. winegard is currently working on a fix / upgrade to their system to correct this.

stay tuned!

cheers,
peter
__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2010 equinox tow
our blog... https://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 11:35 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 525
AND IF ANYONE IS WONDERING HOW TO GET "LOCKED ON", here is the info i previously posted...
______________

using the operation manual for the winegard traveler.... it details how to do a manual search for the various individual satellites. it was pretty simple :-)

here's a cut & paste...

Manual Mode:
The TRAV’LER antenna is an extremely versatile satellite antenna and can be manually set to find many different satellites individually. NOTE: This function is rarely used.
To enter the Manual Search Mode while the TRAV’LER is stowed:
Press the [Power] button and hold it for two seconds to turn the unit on. While the Trav’ler Interface reads:
Press and hold the [Enter] button for two seconds.
The TRAV’LER Interface will ask if you wish to enter the User Menu:
Press [Select] to choose YES and then press [Enter].
The User Menu consists of four choices:
Search Mode
Diagnostics Installation Exit
NOTE: Diagnostic and Installation Menus are not required for normal operation and should only be entered by a trained professional.

OPERATION
To use the Manual Search Mode to select a specific satellite, choose Search Mode by pressing the [Enter] button. Once in the Search Menu you may choose from:
MULTISAT MODE (The normal search mode) MANUAL 61
MANUAL 72
MANUAL 82
MANUAL 91
MANUAL 101
MANUAL 107
MANUAL 110
MANUAL 111
MANUAL 119
MANUAL 129
MANUAL 148
MAIN MENU (returns to the User Menu)
EXIT (Enters the Search Routine)

The SK-7002 will only see the 107° and 111° satellites in manual mode.
Press [Select] to cycle through each of these satellites until the asterisk is next to the satellite you wish to find. Then press [Enter].
The TRAV’LER Interface will ask you to confirm the change: Press [Select] to move the asterisk to YES.
The Trav’ler Interface will acknowledge your selection and ask:
The TRAV’LER will remain in manual mode until you select multi-sat mode again.
Manual ### *YES NO
POWER OFF *YES NO

Pressing [Enter] or choosing YES, will stow the TRAV’LER and turn it off.
Pressing [Select] then [Enter] or choosing NO will start a new search for your chosen satellite.
__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2010 equinox tow
our blog... https://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canadian Shaw Satellite harris155 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 11-27-2021 05:43 PM
Shaw Direct (Canadian) cadiwa Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 06-25-2018 02:10 PM
Will this be the end of Canadian Shaw Direct down South? harris155 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 05-02-2017 02:34 PM
Trav'ler Canadian option Shaw Canada set up bill2011 Entegra Owner's Forum 19 04-01-2017 11:51 AM
Canadian Shaw Satellite dish in USA? Milom Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 11-21-2014 07:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.