Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2021, 09:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,683
Cricket Simply Data $55 plan

Is anyone using the Cricket Simply Data $55 plan. This seems like a good deal to get some coverage while on the road. The offer the Turbo hotspot for ~$80, some start fees, but after that seems like a decent deal



If any one is using any complaints or comments?
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2021, 10:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ljwt330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Capistrano Beach, California
Posts: 3,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Is anyone using the Cricket Simply Data $55 plan. This seems like a good deal to get some coverage while on the road. The offer the Turbo hotspot for ~$80, some start fees, but after that seems like a decent deal



If any one is using any complaints or comments?
I donít have the data plan, but have had the ďEl CheapoĒ phone plan for several years. No issues other than no coverage at my house, but that applies to nearly all other carriers as well. Customer service is marginal, at best.

Cricket is the super economical branch of AT&T, using the same infrastructure and coverage. Donít know if it will be affected by AT&Tís recent changes in service as mentioned in another thread.
__________________
Larry, Eileen, and Finley
2004 Alpine 36FDDS
Third motor home, first Alpine, no need for another.
Ljwt330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 11:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
GypsyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 1,264
Doesn't seem to compare too well to the $25 a month Verizon/Visible plan if you ask me.
Visible thread: https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/25-m...ed-442091.html
Or the ZTE/Mobley $20 thing here: https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/20-u...ce-337555.html
GypsyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 01:23 PM   #4
Member
 
ArloShmarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 34
Iíve had a Cricket SIM in a Nighthawk MR1100 mobile hotspot for about 9 months. It is primarily used as an AT&T-based backup for my Verizon (grandfathered) unlimited data plan. In this context, my experience with Cricket has been very positive. It has provided a fast and reliable connection with little evidence of slowdowns due to network management (in comparison to my Verizon plan).
ArloShmarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 02:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
Doesn't seem to compare too well to the $25 a month Verizon/Visible plan if you ask me.
Visible thread: https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/25-m...ed-442091.html
Or the ZTE/Mobley $20 thing here: https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/20-u...ce-337555.html

Thanks, I've read the Visible thread.

I have a ZTE Mobley now but it staying at the S&B while I travel.



Looking for options.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 03:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,779
Based on my Cricket cell phone plan, the coverage is probably not exactly the same as AT&T. The Cricket plan does not include the roaming towers that AT&T includes. There are a few places where I can't get reception on Cricket that I used to get with AT&T. For the cost savings, I can live with it. But be aware of it if looking to switch.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 07:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 357
Don't forget that AT&T have a very similar plan.
https://www.att.com/prepaid/mobile-hotspot-tablet/

There are some differences.
https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/cri...plan-to-55-mo/

If you're buying a device from Cricket then it's probably a good way to go. Cricket is slightly cheaper because it includes taxes.

If you already had a router then AT&T is probably the way.
tetranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 07:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetranz View Post
Don't forget that AT&T have a very similar plan.
https://www.att.com/prepaid/mobile-hotspot-tablet/

There are some differences.
https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/cri...plan-to-55-mo/

If you're buying a device from Cricket then it's probably a good way to go. Cricket is slightly cheaper because it includes taxes.

If you already had a router then AT&T is probably the way.

The local AT&T store didn't even have any hotspots. I could by the Nighthawk MR5100 from Best Buy for ~$560, this is a 5G hotspot but in reality I won't be in areas that even have 5G coverage that much. I then can get the plan for AT&T.

Also called Cricket, I can buy a Turbo hotspot for $79. They do have some initial fees but overall the cheapest option to get going. One benefit is that Cricket does include Canada, which ultimately I'd probably use.

I could also have internet via my local electrical coop, this is fiber optic so very fast, but what turned me off was that it only allows a limited number (4) devices unless you go to the best plan. 4 devices wouldn't work with the 4 smart TV's, laptops, phones, printers etc connected. It might work if only one of us is home at a time. The person on the road would take the Mobley.



I have a week to decide.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 08:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
I could also have internet via my local electrical coop, this is fiber optic so very fast, but what turned me off was that it only allows a limited number (4) devices unless you go to the best plan.
I don't know how they enforce number of devices. You can always just add a router and have as many devices as you like even if they officially only allow one device.
tetranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetranz View Post
I don't know how they enforce number of devices. You can always just add a router and have as many devices as you like even if they officially only allow one device.



I asked that very question, she said that it would recognize individual devices even routed through a router. That is the work around I use with the Mobley device.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 08:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
I asked that very question, she said that it would recognize individual devices even routed through a router.
I'm a little skeptical of that. She might have been getting confused with an ethernet switch or (obsolete now) hub which basically acts like a splitter or multi-adapter. It's a bit like simply wiring extra sockets on their router. I can understand how that wouldn't work if their router device is hard coded to allow only four devices.

A NAT router is different even though it might look much the same. It essentially creates its own network and makes it look like a single device. The ISP would need to be taking some extraordinary and sneaky measures to detect the number of devices on the LAN side of the NAT router.
tetranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 08:59 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper25 View Post
Doesn't every phone, laptop, tablet, etc. have a different mac address which shows up, even if they all are going through one router? So yes, I believe they can see how many devices we have online.
No, a router doesn't pass MAC addresses.

MAC addresses are at layer 2 or data link layer of the network model. Routers work at layer 3 or internet layer. Routers work with IP addresses and a NAT router effectively crunches the IP addresses into one.

(I'm not sure where your comment went )
tetranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 652
Thanks for the info.
__________________
Camping and boondocking since 1960
Camper25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you used Cricket data in Canada? AllanK Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 11-27-2019 07:40 AM
Very simply put ruppr Just Conversation 10 08-22-2012 07:37 PM
water system simply stopped, no clue mercedesme2 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 12-22-2010 04:53 PM
Simply Z Best car wax SargeW Gear and Product Discussions 1 11-15-2006 05:34 PM
Lazy Daze -- simply the best WOW.... look at that view!!! New Rig Show-Off! 2 05-04-2006 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.