Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2014, 10:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 22
Direct TV Genie question

I'm hoping someone can answer this question for me. I only know enough to get myself in serious trouble .

I have a 2003 Winnebago Adventurer 33V with an original King Roadtrip stationary satellite. At home I have Direct TV. I know I can't get HD in the MH with our Genie, and the satellite is not compatible (as far as I can tell), but here's my question. If I buy another Direct TV satellite dish and mount it on the roof of our shed in Florida, would I then be able to use the Genie both in Florida and Indiana?

That would allow us to get rid of the "RV" service and get the channels I enjoy with less hassle (I think).

The problem would be running the coax from the sat to the Genie receiver. Can anyone give me simple guidance on that? I know better than to ask Direct TV about this. They insist it can't be done (probably because they would get less revenue) but I've read here that it is possible. Could the coax be input through the TV cable? We don't have cable way in the boonies where we winter.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Jo
jcrain9663 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-21-2014, 05:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Jo, yes this all possible.... but my question is why are you interested in having Genie in the RV? Do you only watch pre-recorded shows? Are you going to bring along your main DVR from home into the RV? The only feature you gain with the Genie system is being able to watch pre-recorded shows at any network connected TV within the house (or coach in your case). There are other alternatives that would be much easier, and less expensive to setup.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 06:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94-Newmar View Post
Jo, yes this all possible.... but my question is why are you interested in having Genie in the RV? Do you only watch pre-recorded shows? Are you going to bring along your main DVR from home into the RV? The only feature you gain with the Genie system is being able to watch pre-recorded shows at any network connected TV within the house (or coach in your case). There are other alternatives that would be much easier, and less expensive to setup.

We have a Genie HR44 in our MH and enjoy having the ability to record 5 channels at once. Even though that sounds like a lot, recordings often have overlaps at the beginning and end of a show which result in more tuners being used than one would expect. The Genie has a much faster processor and responds to command far faster than any previous DTV DVR; I wouldn't get anything else.

As for bringing a satellite signal into your MH from a dish you mount outside there are several options. In the most primitive fashion you can just bring it in through a window and tape up the "gap". The driver's window, which isn't used when you're parked works well for this. Alternatively, use your MH's prewired coax IF IT WORKS (lots of them are installed poorly), or install a coax penetration through the coach sidewall.

It's also possible that you can convert your existing rooftop dish to SWM to permit it to be used with the Genie. It would still be SD rather than HD, but SWM-conversions of older devices are possible in some cases. Call the manufacturer and ask the question.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 06:55 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,031
Best solution would be to have a Trav'ler installed on the roof of the MH.
Then you would have HD every night on your drive to your winter spot and back home.

I have a Genie HR34, HR23, H21 and a H25 in my MH. Using the Trav'ler.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 10:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,816
In addition to the positives listed by Docj, the Genie HR44 has a smaller footprint. With limited cabinet space available this can be a big benefit! The Genie HR34 is much larger. The HR44 also has a separate power supply, allowing you to move this heat source to a better location.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 11:55 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94-Newmar View Post
Jo, yes this all possible.... but my question is why are you interested in having Genie in the RV? Do you only watch pre-recorded shows? Are you going to bring along your main DVR from home into the RV? =
Yes, partly I want to record shows for watching later so I don't have to be a slave to the TV. Also, we currently have Direct TV's "RV" service, which includes NONE of the channels I watch at home. It's a lot of movie channels (many of them pay per view). DH also loves his NFL Sunday Ticket. Not sure if that is even available on our current setup.

I told DH we need to take the Genie out to the MH sometime next month and play with it. As someone said, we know better than to ask for help from Direct TV. They pretend that it can't be done. So to have any TV at all, I'm paying for service to two receivers that get no local channels.

I llike that idea of running the cable through the driver window and taping over it. That is likely the cheapest alternative if the using the existing input in the electrical bay doesn't work. I can get another dish for about $100.

Thanks for the suggestions.
jcrain9663 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 12:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
falconman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 1,208
If you have a "cable" input on the outside of the RV it can be used for an external satellite input also. Most newer RV's have two inputs for that purpose, one for SAT and one for CABLE. You will have to reconfigure the cable wiring where it terminates inside the RV, usually at the cable/antenna switch plate. You can detach the cable feed from the back of the switch plate and then attach an extension cable from there to the DTV box. You will lose the cable feed ability until you reattach it as it was. The "best" way is to run a new cable from the outside directly to the receiver if that's possible. I have a similar single wire input and use a series of jumper cables to select between what input source I want.
__________________
Dan & Arlene
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV
Chasing the good weather
falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 12:34 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 22
If you are eligible for an upgrade

There is a new Wireless Genie that is now available. I don't qualify for free upgrading yet, but some of you may. In a MH, any time you can get rid of a cord or cable, that's a good thing!
jcrain9663 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 03:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrain9663 View Post
There is a new Wireless Genie that is now available. I don't qualify for free upgrading yet, but some of you may. In a MH, any time you can get rid of a cord or cable, that's a good thing!
That's a wireless miniGenie, the C-41W. It's a client to be used with an HR44 or HR34 Genie and a Wireless Video Bridge. It's not a replacement for the Genie, but a "second receiver" to be used with it.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 03:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
eddieelk's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: summer-Cuba Mo./winter Somewhere in South TX.
Posts: 480
I take my converter from the house. Radio Shack has a small connecter that will fit under the door or thru the window to connect to the converter, allowing you to lock the door or window. I have used this for seven years on 3 motorhomes. Eddie Elk.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow Vision 36' w/460, '03 Honda CRV, FMCA #388823, Gateway Getaways RV Club
eddieelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 04:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
deandec's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 5,234
I have set up a routing for external antenna coax on my rig using the driver side front basement compartment.

That compartment has no full floor.

Our TV is located on the overhead front dash as is the DVR.

So I installed two cables, one for each LNB, that run from the DVR to the basement compartment.

I also carry two 50' coax cables that allow me to then connect to the portable antenna and the leads in that compartment. The compartment remains locked.

This way I can avoid the "thru the window" hanging cord problem.
__________________
Dean
1995 38' CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
Gillig Bus Chassis
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 11:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,509
One thing that I have not seen mentioned is that the Genie is SWM only. If you want to use the Genie with your King dish, you will have to install a SWM8 multiswitch and power inserter. I believe that your present dish/dome has to be dual LNB for this to work.
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 01:04 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 89
I bought a regular HD dish or whatever the model is, the oval one, and permanently mounted it at our permanent site. I can use any DTV receiver I want, but since I still have the old tube TV in the front I just use a SD box that I leave in the MH year round. The HD dish was $123 IIRC.

The DTV installer was recently at our house to upgrade all our stuff. I told him the we were keeping the SD box because I use it in my MH. He had no problem, and had to call DTV, because they screwed up our order, and he had to explain why we were keeping the SD. They didn't have a problem either. Though I would've raised a stink if they did have a problem. It's pretty easy to get your way, within reason, with DTV.
At my site, I get every channel I get at home, including locals. 180 miles away, but pretty much straight north.

Btw, we also have an adventurer and ran the cable from the dish under the front of the MH up under the firewall and through the dash vent. I wanted the least amount of cable inside the MH. MH are already a wiring nightmare and I didn't want to add to it.
srt20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 12:40 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
midgt89's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 18
I also moved my directv box from my basement to my motorhome home. The only problem I have is when your in a shaded campground my dish will try to find a clear
path south, if it's unable it will foil back down. I have seen people with a remote dish for this reason, it might be something to keep in mind.


____________________________________
2014 Tour 2010 GMC Denali 105th Edition H-D Ultra Classic
midgt89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King Dome and HD Direct TV compatibility Vtxbiker Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 47 10-31-2018 09:06 PM
Direct TV Genie wireless Spider Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 05-29-2014 10:10 AM
Questions on hooking up Direct TV sd1209 Newmar Owner's Forum 5 04-09-2014 05:52 PM
Another battery charging Question moisheh Monaco Owner's Forum 14 02-28-2014 04:43 PM
Direct TV Receiver Question lhill Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 02-12-2014 09:20 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.