Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
direct tv slim line 3

I keep getting this message on the set up screen after doing all the set up stuff. tuner 1: not acquired. What do I need to do. Thanks Britt
panga22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-18-2013, 06:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
justaroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lake OZ,MO summer-RiverBend Motorcoach Resort,FL winter
Posts: 668
Is your slim 3 on tripod, roof, etc. Does it auto locate? Do you have satellites acquired? Which satellites? Are you using a "B" band convertor for HD?
A bit more information would be very helpful.
__________________
♫ Happy Trails... to You ♪....., Until We Meet Again ♪..... ♫
justaroamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:06 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks for the response it is on a tri pod no b bands does not auto locate also have tried to get signal on vuqube 1000 with no luck. I have direct tv with h24-700 receiver which I got from direct tv. Told them what I was using it for. Have also used 2 different cables. Have also took the h24-700 receiver and hooked to my house system and it works fine. Thanks again Britt
panga22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:14 AM   #4
Member
 
yankeeflyer's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgrade,Maine
Posts: 64
Your setup is wrong.It's looking for another cable for tuner 1 which would be the setup for a dvr.Go into the direct tv menu to setup for antenna,change it to 18" round and multi switch.
yankeeflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
vraines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 708
Agree with the second cable need. You did not mention how you were aiming the dish. With that 18 inch dish you will be looking to tune sat 101. Azimuth and elevation can be obtained during the set up and I recommend one of the free compass aps for your phone or tablet, as they make tuning a lot easier and faster. I have a cheap signal meter that does a decent job of tuning to the sat. It will not distinguish between all the TV sats, so get it close to the correct azimuth before turning it on. There is also a sat finder ap that cost a few bucks that works well for among around trees, but I have not bought that. Good luck!
__________________
2007 Dutch Star 4320
2010 Mazda Miata 6 speed
Roadmaster tow
vraines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 02:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 181
If a non-SWM SL3 (has 4 outputs) will need one feed to the tuner if an H24 or two if an HR24. I think B-band converters are required too.

If SWM, only one feed required to up to eight tuners. B-bands NOT required but a 21v PI is.

If he has an SL3, he is not using an 18" dish but instead a Slimline.

An H24 only has one tuner input. An H24 or HR24 will auto-identify a SWM dish and maybe a non-SWM. If not, a non-SWM should be set to Slimline 3 and multiswitch.

Best advice is duplicate EXACTLY what you have at home. Only mix and match if you know EXACTLY what you are doing.
schneid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneid View Post
If a non-SWM SL3 (has 4 outputs) will need one feed to the tuner if an H24 or two if an HR24. I think B-band converters are required too.

If SWM, only one feed required to up to eight tuners. B-bands NOT required but a 21v PI is.

If he has an SL3, he is not using an 18" dish but instead a Slimline.

An H24 only has one tuner input. An H24 or HR24 will auto-identify a SWM dish and maybe a non-SWM. If not, a non-SWM should be set to Slimline 3 and multiswitch.

Best advice is duplicate EXACTLY what you have at home. Only mix and match if you know EXACTLY what you are doing.
Another point to consider is how do you know you have a Slimline 3? If you are counting the number of LNB's you could be wrong because the Slimline 5 looks as if it has only 3 LNB's but the central LNB actually contains 3 separate devices so the total number is 5. Unless you know what you are looking for you can't tell a Slimline 3 from a Slimline 5.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 181
Good point. I took him at his word that he had an SL3. This is an SL3s SWM LNB. It requires a 21v PI to work. It receives the 99, 101 and 103 and all CONUS HD programming except some HD locals in some areas that carry them on the 119. A non-SWM SL3 will have four outputs

http://images10.newegg.com/ProductIm...250-057-02.jpg

Required 21v SWM PI:

http://pimages.solidsignal.com/PI-21_medlrg.jpg
schneid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 181
Current DirecTV Slimeline configurations:

What DIRECTV dish antenna type do I have?
schneid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.