RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2008, 03:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ceratto's Grotto's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 306
FYI:

We have a KingDome 2 LNB unit, DirectTV and a TIVO unit.

While in Tucson (out of the Seattle area), we had problems getting the TIVO to work when trying to record / watch Local Network TV, (meaning Tucson's NBC, ABC, CBS), at the same time as the other DirectTV channels.

As it turns out (per the DirectTV rep that came out to fix some other issues on our unit) in SOME markets (such as Tucson but not Phoenix) the local network channels are on a different satellite than the other DirectTV channels. Two LNB units such as with the KingDome unit we have will not record a program on one satellite and watch a program on another satellite. One needs a three LNB unit. The two LNB KingDome unit we have will switch back and forth with the right programming very easily (like in automatic and in less than 5 seconds) but it can not access both satellites at the SAME time.

The good news is 1) there are not very many markets where this is so and 2) DirectTV is moving everything (except HD) to one Satellite within, (they say), the next year.

There are some other things one has to do in order to get Local Network Channels such as changing ones service address.

There is also the possibility to get Network Feeds out of the east cost with something called a Distant Networks Program but I do not know the specifics about that... yet... I understand it may take 6 months and some paper work.

At least this is the way I understand things... as of today @ 6:45 PM MST...
__________________
The Hamptons
2015 Newmar Ventana LE 3436 : 2017 Jeep Wrangler
www.FlyingPigAdventures.net
Ceratto's Grotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-06-2008, 03:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ceratto's Grotto's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 306
FYI:

We have a KingDome 2 LNB unit, DirectTV and a TIVO unit.

While in Tucson (out of the Seattle area), we had problems getting the TIVO to work when trying to record / watch Local Network TV, (meaning Tucson's NBC, ABC, CBS), at the same time as the other DirectTV channels.

As it turns out (per the DirectTV rep that came out to fix some other issues on our unit) in SOME markets (such as Tucson but not Phoenix) the local network channels are on a different satellite than the other DirectTV channels. Two LNB units such as with the KingDome unit we have will not record a program on one satellite and watch a program on another satellite. One needs a three LNB unit. The two LNB KingDome unit we have will switch back and forth with the right programming very easily (like in automatic and in less than 5 seconds) but it can not access both satellites at the SAME time.

The good news is 1) there are not very many markets where this is so and 2) DirectTV is moving everything (except HD) to one Satellite within, (they say), the next year.

There are some other things one has to do in order to get Local Network Channels such as changing ones service address.

There is also the possibility to get Network Feeds out of the east cost with something called a Distant Networks Program but I do not know the specifics about that... yet... I understand it may take 6 months and some paper work.

At least this is the way I understand things... as of today @ 6:45 PM MST...
__________________
The Hamptons
2015 Newmar Ventana LE 3436 : 2017 Jeep Wrangler
www.FlyingPigAdventures.net
Ceratto's Grotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 03:58 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
OK, let's see if I can clarify a couple of things for you.
1) Your King Dome has only one LNB. This is referred to as a dual LNB as it will feed more than one receiver, but it cannot receive the signal from more than one satellite at a time.
2) Very few local Networks are still available on the KU band satellites that DTV uses (101, 110, 119) and NO dome can pick up the local programming that is on the new KA band satellites (99, 103).
3) You are eligible for the DNS Networks from NY and LA and these are available Nationwide. Once you fill out and send in the waiver it takes 7-14 days and not 6 months. If you fax the waiver to 208-363-6444 you may have DNS service in just a few days.
4) You are correct that no dome on the market can receive programming from 2 different satellites at the same time. Nothing special here about the King Dome.
5) DTV is moving their local Network programming to new satellites, but these new satellites are on the KA band and cannot be picked up on your (or any) dome as the LNB is usable on KU band only.
Your King Dome (any dome) will work just great as long as all you need is the programming on the 101 satellite. That's nearly all of the cable type programming plus the DNS Networks out of NY and LA. There is almost no HD programming left on 110 and 119 so the only KU band satellite that serves any purpose to us RVer's is the 101.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 05:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ceratto's Grotto's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 306
Thanks for the further clarification Bill. That all makes sense and is in summary, what the last DirectTV tech told us (although not in as much detail and clarity as you were able to do).

There certainly is a variety of conflicting information and from 'authorized' sources though.

We do not use HD programming so I was not aware of any issues relating to that [yet] but depending upon where we are, the local network programming is on 119, albeit very few locations.
__________________
The Hamptons
2015 Newmar Ventana LE 3436 : 2017 Jeep Wrangler
www.FlyingPigAdventures.net
Ceratto's Grotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 06:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
LindaH's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,545
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ceratto's Grotto:
There is also the possibility to get Network Feeds out of the east cost with something called a Distant Networks Program but I do not know the specifics about that... yet... I understand it may take 6 months and some paper work. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Here is the RV Waiver for DirecTV.

Print it out, complete the form and <span class="ev_code_RED">FAX</span> it to (208)363-6444 together with a current copy of your RV's registration form. You should have DNS up and running within about 24 hours.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Aspect 27K
2011 Kia Soul
LindaH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirectTV lalow08 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 08-30-2008 05:13 AM
KVH R6 and TIVO or DVR connection Raphael Newmar Owner's Forum 14 05-04-2007 04:28 AM
copying from directv DVR to tivo Gdlow Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 08-14-2006 02:51 PM
TIVO in coach jerry davis Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 21 07-10-2006 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.