Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2013, 09:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
DirecTV "Dish Type" and "Switch Type" for KVH R4SL

We purchased a used 2006 Winnebago Voyage that has a KVH R4SL dish on the roof. It appears to be configured for DirecTV since there are no "keys" installed on the switchplate. A friend loaned me a DirecTV H24-100 receiver and I attempted to set it up with my R4SL.............. with no success. The receiver always returns a error message saying it can not detect a satellite signal. Not knowing which dish type and switch type to enter into the receiver setup menu, I think I have tried every possible combination. Can someone tell me what the correct types are for using the KVH R4SL? Any other tips on how to properly set the system up would be greatly appreciated? I realize that I may need some firmware upgrades, etc., but I don't want to invest the money if there is a good possiblility that the system is badly broken............. so I would like to at least ensure that I can get a signal first.
gdarnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-02-2013, 09:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,742
I have a 2001 diplomat with a KVH
Mine is set up as round 18 inch dish and set to multi switch. I believe KVH had a slow data port for the antenna from the box till 2006. It's important to know if your antenna has this port requirement or not.
I think you have an on/off switch and a switch to find the satellite. If so you may have to keep pressing that switch to find the satellite.
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,389
The receiver you are using is designed to use the "new" DirecTV SWM system; however, it can be used with a non-SWM dish (like yours) if you do the following:

Go to the satellite setup menu and go to dish type and select "multiswitch" and then select "round" for dish model. The selection must be done in that order after you have connected to the your dome. That should be all you need to get the signal to the receiver.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
justaroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lake OZ,MO summer-RiverBend Motorcoach Resort,FL winter
Posts: 661
You should have a receiver with the low speed data port, so the antenna "learns" from the receiver, what Sat. to lock on to. You can do without, but you have to keep hitting the search button until you lock to the Sat you want.
__________________
♫ Happy Trails... to You ♪....., Until We Meet Again ♪..... ♫
justaroamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,742
Hi Doc J

I didn't know the sequence mattered. Thank you.
I just bought an older direct tv box with the slow data port to hook up to my dish switch. The new direct tv card or the box hasn't arrived yet. But shouldn't that make the dish pointing automatic for my older system? Any information you have is appreciated.
Thanks
Rick .
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ivan_drago's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 190
Having same issue....staying tuned
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight 40PLQ
2006 Duramax toad
2017 Yukon XL 4x4
ivan_drago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:51 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Unhappy Still doesn't work

Thanks for the suggestions. I tried selecting multiswitch and then round antenna but that didn't work. And I don't know if I have the low speed data port or not, but I don't see any button to push as suggested in one of the posts.I guess I will have to break down and take it to a dealer or I pay KVH the $100 they want to help me out.
gdarnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorlininc View Post
Hi Doc J

I didn't know the sequence mattered. Thank you.
I just bought an older direct tv box with the slow data port to hook up to my dish switch. The new direct tv card or the box hasn't arrived yet. But shouldn't that make the dish pointing automatic for my older system? Any information you have is appreciated.
Thanks
Rick .
Having the slow speed port will improve the dish pointing ability of your system but it may not be as automatic as the newer systems. Around 2006 the dish manufacturers started using a process, I think they called it DVB, which enabled the dish to be able to figure out if the satellite it was pointing at is the one it wanted. At the time we had a King Dome which we retrofitted with this technology. How automatic yours is will depend on whether or not it has it and I don't know how to determine it other than by trying.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,742
Hi GDarnell

You did find the power switch. Right? There should be a switch next to it. My switch is on the front tv box on the driver side.
Do you know what model satellite you have?
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdarnell View Post
Thanks for the suggestions. I tried selecting multiswitch and then round antenna but that didn't work. And I don't know if I have the low speed data port or not, but I don't see any button to push as suggested in one of the posts.I guess I will have to break down and take it to a dealer or I pay KVH the $100 they want to help me out.
Your receiver definitely doesn't have a low speed data port because no modern receiver does. Your dish was designed at a time when they had them.

The button you are looking for is not on the receiver it is on the dish! If the dish locks onto the wrong satellite you would push the "search for satellite" button again to get it to find another one. Normally, the low speed data port would carry this information to the dish, but you have to do it manually.

But before that, did any of the settings changes that were suggested enable you to actually connect properly from the receiver to the dish? Were you able to determine if any signals were getting to the receiver? Even if the dish selected the wrong satellite there would be signal on some of the transponders. Did you see that?
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,742
Hi Docj

Good morning.
Thanks for the info. I wanted to try this before I purchase a new satellite dish. I have a KVH right now. I think I may goto a wineguard if this direct tv data port doesn't work. I appreciate your input
Thanks
Rick
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:27 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorlininc View Post
Hi Docj

Good morning.
Thanks for the info. I wanted to try this before I purchase a new satellite dish. I have a KVH right now. I think I may goto a wineguard if this direct tv data port doesn't work. I appreciate your input
Thanks
Rick
We had an old dish system on our MH when we bought it and had had a King Dome on a previous RV. Neither of them worked nearly as well as the Winegard Trav'ler we have now. With the Winegard I push a button and know that a few minutes later it will have found the satellites. No muss, no fuss. I realize it isn't inexpensive, but it sure does work. If you do decide to purchase one be sure to get the new SWM3 model; some dealers will be selling off their older units to unknowing customers.

Joel
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:55 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,742
Thanks Joel.

I think they are around $1800. I heard they are good satellite dishes.
I though I would try the old receiver first with the data port. Found it on eBay for $37 shipped cheap enough. It's worth a try.
Thanks for your help
Rick
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:38 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jeryan59's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 667
Direct TV has a technical support team that supports KVH, very helpful. You must be persistent to get them to transfer you to the department and I believe they are only open normal business hours, not 24/7.
__________________
Johnny Rotten
2009 American Eagle 42'
Trailering HD Road Glide and Saab 9.3 or Cadillac Escalade ESV
jeryan59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.