Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2021, 08:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
Directv No HD With New Wireless Genie

I have an older Winegard Travel'er LG2112. I recently upgraded my DTV components to wireless Genie so that I could get HD in the coach. Being a 2004 all the connections were analog. When camping the dish captured all three satellites according to the control box and I received the SD channels but no HD. I went thru satellite setup again and it showed only the 101 had good signal strength but zero on the 99 and 103. There was just a fraction on a couple of transponders of the 103 but very little. There were some trees off in the distance on the azimuth of the the dish but the Winegard controller showed lock on all three satellites. Did I have this hooked up correctly or were the trees blocking the 99 and 103? The system works great in the S&B but I couldn't get HD at this particular campground the first time I connected it up in the coach.
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2021, 12:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,510
You said that your Travler was "older". If it isn't a SWM unit, you will need to add a SWM switch and power inserter to your system.
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 01:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
I have a SWIM connected to it. Wiring is as follows:

Coax from Travel'r to SWIM antenna connection
SWIM IRD out to DTV 2 way splitter
DTV splitter to Video Bridge
DTV splitter to HR-44

I got all channels in SD only. HD channels showed on the guide but when selected it said HD not available, watch in low resolution?
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 04:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,510
So it sounds like you are using a SWM 8 (16) multiswitch. If I recall correctly, all 4 cables from the Travler must be connected to the SWM switch. It sounds like you only have one connected.

https://www.weaknees.com/pdf/swm-ref-guide.pdf
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 06:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by ernieh View Post
So it sounds like you are using a SWM 8 (16) multiswitch. If I recall correctly, all 4 cables from the Travler must be connected to the SWM switch. It sounds like you only have one connected.

https://www.weaknees.com/pdf/swm-ref-guide.pdf
Thank you. I will check. Is the multiswitch on the base of the turret?
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 08:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,510
It can be inside or outside, but it won't be mounted to the turret.
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 11:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
No multiswitch on mine. Direct coax from the dish to the A/V cabinet. SWM3 setup.
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 12:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,108
You say all your connections to the tv's is analog. Does that mean that the connection between the Genie and the tv is not via an HDMI cable? Do your tv's have an HDMI connection port? If no to either question you will only get SD on your tv's. You may need to buy new hi-def tv's to get a HD picture.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 05:16 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
The reason for going wireless was because there was no HDMI cable in the coach. Now the clients are connect to the TVís via HDMI. Look at my original post where I describe the lash up. I get HD OTA from the RAZAR antenna so that isnít the problem.
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 08:02 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldnavycdr View Post
I have a SWIM connected to it. Wiring is as follows:

Coax from Travel'r to SWIM antenna connection
SWIM IRD out to DTV 2 way splitter
DTV splitter to Video Bridge
DTV splitter to HR-44

I got all channels in SD only. HD channels showed on the guide but when selected it said HD not available, watch in low resolution?
Please look at page 3 of this document. In order to get HD it is essential that you have four coax connections from the base of the Trav'ler to the SWM switch: https://docplayer.net/23804085-Guide...-antennas.html
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 11:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
docj, I think we've found the problems. Here are pictures of my turret connections. It appears that when the Trav'ler was installed it was set up for only the 101. So, what do I need to do to get it wired for the other satellites? Pics below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Winegard1.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	337590   Click image for larger version

Name:	Winegard2.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	337591  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Winegard3.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	337592  
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 11:43 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
However, from the Winegard Installation Manual, Rev 6, it shows a single coax cable from port C on the turret to the power inserter in the coach without a multiswitch. This is how my coach is lashed up. So now I'm really confused.
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 01:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldnavycdr View Post
However, from the Winegard Installation Manual, Rev 6, it shows a single coax cable from port C on the turret to the power inserter in the coach without a multiswitch. This is how my coach is lashed up. So now I'm really confused.
Are you sure that the version of the installation guide you are using is for a non-SWM Trav'ler? The SWM version installs with a single coax, but I don't think the non-SWM version can be installed that way.

I'm wondering if the version of the Trav'ler you have is the one that only received 101, 110 and 119 which would mean that you would only receive SD channels, at least until such time as DirecTV re-programs the 101 bird. That could explain a lot about why it was wired the way it was. It also would mean that you will never be able to receive the HD broadcasts from 99 and 103. When I had my Trav'ler installed in 2000 I was give the choice of the Sk3005 or the one that only received SD. AT that time HD programming was still sort of new and I almost went for the less expensive SD version.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 02:51 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 375
I believe this unit is a SWM3 unit. It uses a power injector and the LNB, while the label is difficult to read says SWM with some numbers. The PO had it installed around 2014-2016 timeframe. I've not tried it other than the one time at this campground in VA and there might have been some LOS obstruction. What threw me was that the Trav'ler control box showed it to be locked on the 101, 99, and 103 but I had no signal strength on the 99 and 25% on a couple of transponders on the 103.
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL, Spartan Chassis
2009 Honda Fit Sport
oldnavycdr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
directv



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecTV Genie - How to transfer from "Home" to new RV krnlueck Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 08-21-2016 08:39 PM
DTV Wired Mini Genie or Wireless Mini Genie MoHoGo Entegra Owner's Forum 12 06-25-2016 04:33 PM
Any one have a directv "wireless" Genie installed. Does it work well? Tireman1 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 09-17-2014 05:13 PM
Separation Requirements for Genie Wireless Coma Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 05-30-2014 01:50 PM
Direct TV Genie wireless Spider Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 05-29-2014 10:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.