RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2020, 04:57 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Blandry29's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 144
Dish DVR issues!

Bought an external hard drive for my Wally. It works great, EXCEPT when there is no satellite signal. I got the DVR specifically for this situation, figuring could watch pre-recorded programming. In areas where the antenna can't find a satellite, the Wally runs the switch check, satellite scan routine on an endless loop. Nothing happens if I press the DVR button on the remote, and if I access the DVR Icon on the Home menu, it shows a box saying the feature is not available.

Does anyone know of a workaround that would allow me to watch recorded shows when I can't lock a satellite?
__________________
Bob - Folsom CA
2008 Fleetwood Southwind 35A, Workhorse W-22 8.1
Acme EZE Tow Dolly - 2007 Honda Odyssey
Blandry29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2020, 05:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mjeffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 770
How long has it been since it had a satellite connection (with a paid up account)?

Others have mentioned that after a week or so with no connection they cannot access the DVR recordings.
__________________
-- Jeffrey and Maren
2011 Winnebago Journey 40U
Ford Escape Hybrid with Blue OX, Air Force One and TST
mjeffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 06:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Blandry29's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 144
It works fine (like now when I'm home) when you have signal. But if I moved under a tree and the dish could no longer see the satellite, I can no longer access the DVR.

Dish says its because the DVR uses the guide for scheduling and other purposes, and when it can't see the guide, it disables the DVR. Disappointing, because right on the error message for total signal loss, it states you can still watch OTA channels or use the DVR.
__________________
Bob - Folsom CA
2008 Fleetwood Southwind 35A, Workhorse W-22 8.1
Acme EZE Tow Dolly - 2007 Honda Odyssey
Blandry29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 06:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,207
Found the same with my Wally.

If no sat signal on setup, you can't get to the DVR or the OTA tuner.

A bunch of phone calls and chats and in the end, that's how it works, sorry.

Its only on initial setup, not if I lose the signal in a storm.

I'm going to try seting it up, getting a signal, and just leave the Wally powered up while I store the dish, and see what happens. Maybe that's the trick.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 07:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Blandry29's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 144
I think that will actually work, because the old guide would be present - that's all it needs. The problem is that unless I run the genset or the inverter as I'm going down the road, the Wally is going to restart when I reach my destination, and I'm SOL again!

Frustrating, because that's why I bought the thing! Guess I'll have to look at storing streamed media and playing it back - or resort to DVDs
__________________
Bob - Folsom CA
2008 Fleetwood Southwind 35A, Workhorse W-22 8.1
Acme EZE Tow Dolly - 2007 Honda Odyssey
Blandry29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 08:47 AM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 43,336
I switched to Dish a few months ago and have the Wally w/Tailgater antenna in the MH. I wasn't aware of that problem! I hope they will come up with a solution for it. Thanks for the heads-up!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 11:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,710
As long as the Wally stays powered up and downloads a program guide you will not have a problem. I never turn my DISH receiver off from the time it comes out of storage till I put it back in storage the receiver is on. I never have a problem playing back recorded programs even when the antenna is completely blocked. The trick is to never shut the receiver off just turn off the TV. It won't hurt the receiver, actually it's good for it to remain at a constant operating temp, and it doesn't use hardly any electrical power.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 01:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,207
Didn't get a chance to test it out today, rodents chewed up my boat trailer wiring inside the frame. I'll drown them next week, when I haul the boat.

I leave my inverter on all of the time and the TV, Wally and sound bar are wired direct to it. I'll check the draw with my Kill A Watt meter.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 01:41 PM   #9
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 6,309
Agree with all that's been said. I will add that I've been able to use our Wally's hard drive without the antenna on three separate occasions when we were totally blocked from satellite reception. Like Twinboat, I always keep my Wallies powered through the inverter so there's no problem with the power down.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 05:05 PM   #10
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 43,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt Dan View Post
Agree with all that's been said. I will add that I've been able to use our Wally's hard drive without the antenna on three separate occasions when we were totally blocked from satellite reception. Like Twinboat, I always keep my Wallies powered through the inverter so there's no problem with the power down.
Glad someone's found a work-around for this problem!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Dish DVR question RJEV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 08-27-2010 11:54 AM
Is there a Dish DVR with cable tv input? Rockhouse Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 07-10-2010 08:35 AM
dish network DVR availability steevo Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 08-23-2008 07:56 AM
Dish ViP622 DVR OTA input Don-Savannah, GA Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 07-11-2007 05:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.