Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2021, 03:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bevandtomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,521
Dish Local SD versus HD

Current equipment is a Winegard Travíler and a Hopper 3. Both are less than 3 yrs old.

When we call Dish to get our new local channels, we never seem to get locals in HD. We have on occasion, but rarely.
Sometimes itís our site, I get that. It is what it is with clear line of sight for ideal reception.

However, when I ask the tech, I get answers that range from confusing to dumb. Weíve been a Dish customer for over 25 years so I thought I heard it all.

So, what is anyone else experiencing?
__________________
___________
Tom & Bev, Riley(3yo Lab)
2014 Entegra Aspire 44b
2017 Jeep JKU
bevandtomH is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2021, 03:49 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 12,391
From what I understand, it depends on where you are. Some of the east coast local channels are only broadcast in HD on the Eastern Arc satellites. If you are in that area, you may have to change the Trav'ler to receive the EA satellites. If you are still on the Western Arc, you will only receive in SD.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 03:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
powercat_ras's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,625
Here is something I use that may not be 100% correct anymore but it will give you an idea for each local market if they have HD locals on Western Arc and or on Eastern Arc sats.

This will give you some idea of which local markets that when using sat dish pointed at western arc sats will give you only SD resolution local stations.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DISH Television Station Markets (9-12-2017)..jpg
Views:	31
Size:	292.0 KB
ID:	350208  
__________________
Randy - Manhattan, Kansas
2015 Vista 27N
2020 Ford Escape Hybrid
powercat_ras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 04:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
With my Dish Outdoors plan I can change my locals with a phone app..
I then add my locals to my custom guide.
While selecting them, I see two of each, one of each is marked as HD.

I don't have a HD TV so I don't see a difference, but I choose HD.

I know that you can't change locals unless you have the outdoors plan but maybe you can see if something about HD that is in the app.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 04:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
With my Dish Outdoors plan I can change my locals with a phone app..
I then add my locals to my custom guide.
While selecting them, I see two of each, one of each is marked as HD.

I don't have a HD TV so I don't see a difference, but I choose HD.

I know that you can't change locals unless you have the outdoors plan but maybe you can see if something about HD that is in the app.
What receiver are you using? When I change locals using the app, they show up automatically on my custom guide on my Wally.
bentjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 05:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentjm View Post
What receiver are you using? When I change locals using the app, they show up automatically on my custom guide on my Wally.
I use a Wally.

Example, if I'm getting ABC on channel 5 in Georgia and I move to FL, ABC may be on channel 20.

I need to change that in my favorite channels.

That's where I can pick standard or HD ABC.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 05:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bevandtomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,521
So, are you changing your receiver then to pick up a different arc?
Iíve never changed, we use 110,119,129.
Can/do you just go in and select the other set?
Can or should you mix arcs, or is that even possible?
Iíve asked their techs but never getÖthis what you doÖ.type of answer.
__________________
___________
Tom & Bev, Riley(3yo Lab)
2014 Entegra Aspire 44b
2017 Jeep JKU
bevandtomH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 06:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
I'm not changing the arc, I'm moving from N. NY to S. Florida.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 10:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I use a Wally.

Example, if I'm getting ABC on channel 5 in Georgia and I move to FL, ABC may be on channel 20.

I need to change that in my favorite channels.

That's where I can pick standard or HD ABC.
That is weird. They show up automatically whenever I change locations via the app.
bentjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 10:27 PM   #10
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 12,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by bevandtomH View Post
So, are you changing your receiver then to pick up a different arc?
Iíve never changed, we use 110,119,129.
Can/do you just go in and select the other set?
Can or should you mix arcs, or is that even possible?
Iíve asked their techs but never getÖthis what you doÖ.type of answer.
Mixing the arcs is not possible and you have to manually tune the eastern arc. We've received the western arc all the way to Bar Harbor Maine but never attempted to change arcs. If we wanted locals, we just used the OTA antenna. Here's a previous thread on how to tune an eastern arc satellite.
https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/manu...rc-290260.html
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 07:57 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
bevandtomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,521
Ok, thanks everyone. The map is interesting. I may look for an updated version.
__________________
___________
Tom & Bev, Riley(3yo Lab)
2014 Entegra Aspire 44b
2017 Jeep JKU
bevandtomH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 09:43 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Randy125's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 624
I’ve noticed that when my local channels are in SD it’s usually satellite 110.
__________________
2002 KSDP 3669/Freightliner XC CHASSIS/Cummins 5.9 ISB 300hp
Joplin, MO
Randy125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 04:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I use a Wally.

Example, if I'm getting ABC on channel 5 in Georgia and I move to FL, ABC may be on channel 20.

I need to change that in my favorite channels.

That's where I can pick standard or HD ABC.
There is a setting on the Wally - "Hide Duplicate SD Channels". It is under the Guide Settings. If it is set to On, then that might be why your Guide does not automatically show SD channels.
bentjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 05:58 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,136
Dish has not installed a Western Arc dish on the east coast for nearly 10 years. The majority of east coast HD locals are on the 61ļ sat. They are simulcast in SD on one of the WA sats.
This is really Winegards fault as they should have updated the Trav'ler 10 years ago to pickup the EA sats.
For the most part all the channels you watch are on the 61ļ sat. You can go to that one using the manual function.

Here is a list that may help. Check Tampa to see what I described above.
Local Channels on DISH Network (Unofficial Listing)
az99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIAIR reply about 400P versus 450P versus new "RVS" series air compressor differences NXR Gear and Product Discussions 15 08-30-2021 03:55 PM
340 HP versus 360 & 400 HP versus 450 HP Gamaliel Kid Cummins Engines 6 08-29-2019 06:22 PM
Roadtrek versus Pleasure Way versus Winnebago ERA versus Airstream Interstate 3500 anderjer Class B Motorhome Discussions 63 10-28-2013 10:36 AM
Satellite Dish Problem For Local Programing MtManLee Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 20 12-21-2008 07:54 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.